Posted in Reviews, The Dark Towers Series

The Dark Tower I : The Gunslinger – Stephen King // 12-2015

“This heroic fantasy is set in a world of ominous landscape and macabre menace that is a dark mirror of our own. A spellbinding tale of good versus evil, it features one of Stephen King’s most powerful creations—The Gunslinger, a haunting figure who embodies the qualities of the lone hero through the ages, from ancient myth to frontier western legend.
The Gunslinger’s quest involves the pursuit of The Man in Black, a liaison with the sexually ravenous Alice, and a friendship with the kid from Earth called Jake. Both realistic and eerily dreamlike, here is stunning proof of Stephen King’s storytelling sorcery.” -amazon.com

To start this review off I’d like to establish that I read the first two Dark Tower books in late December last year and early January. I wanted to upload these so that the entire series will be on my blog some day.

I wasn’t the hugest fan of this book, to be honest, but I was still motivated to continue reading the series so it wasn’t really terrible.

The good : 

  • The world-building in this book was phenomenal. I really felt inserted into the mysterious world that King created.
  • Although it was frustrating, I now appreciate that I was left with more questions than I was answers at the end of the book.

The bad : 

  • In the Gunslinger, we were introduced to the main protagonist, Roland, and the main antagonist, the man in black (briefly)…and that’s pretty much it. Nothing of substance really happened, as far as I can tell, the events might show up in later books.
  • Most of the book was overly confusing and sometimes just plain WEIRD. Some people I have spoke to really enjoyed this book, because of the weirdness, so I think it is all really subjective.

All in all, I didn’t really enjoy this book, but because I love and respect King’s work, I want to give his “magnum opus” a chance.

I would rate it 6/10 mysterious gunslingers

(Sorry this review was much shorter than the others, its been awhile since I read this book.)

ALSO : 

Did you hear that they are making a Dark Towers movie? They cast Idris Elba as Roland

MV5BNzEzMTI2NjEyNF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTA0OTE4OA@@._V1_UX214_CR0,0,214,317_AL_ (hubba hubba am I right?)

AND Matthew Mcconaughey as the man in black,

3sQIZh9H

Although I know most Stephen King movie adaptations are usually bad (ok maybe terrible) I have high hopes for this one! What do you think? I’d love to know!

 

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

5 thoughts on “The Dark Tower I : The Gunslinger – Stephen King // 12-2015

Leave a Reply

