Posted in Editorials, Movies

Why Are People Hating on Batman v. Superman?

Fun fact about myself, I love movies almost as much as books. While I don’t get to the theaters very often, I made an exception for Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice. I had waited like 3 YEARS for this movies to come out, so you can imagine how disappointed I was when the critics were trashing almost everything about the show.

For those who don’t know, Batman v. Superman : Dawn of Justice, is the second movie in the new DC extended universe, only after Man of Steel (starring Henry Cavill as Superman). This movie had the daunting task of not only introducing the new Batman (played by Ben Affleck), but setting up the upcoming Justice League movie. That includes Wonder Woman (Gal Gadot), Flash (Ezra Miller), Cyborg (Ray Fisher), and Aquaman ( Jason Momoa).

Now, I don’t know about you, but being tasked with introducing that list of characters seems nearly impossible to me (that’s why I don’t work in show biz), but they still had to balance a coherent story, AND also introduce us to Metropolis’s biggest baddie, Lex Luthor (Jessie Eisenberg). Honestly, even though this movie was filled to the top, it never felt crowded, and I REALLY enjoyed myself watching it.

So back to the subject of this post. What’s with the hate? Currently BvS stands at a whopping 30% from the critics on Rotten Tomatoes, and for what? From what I’ve read, critics loved Ben Affleck and the action sequences, and rightfully so. That seems to be it for them though.

They hated Lex Luthor’s character, but he was one of my favorite parts. They say that it was sloppy writing, but when the time came for the climax, I thought everything came together really nicely.  The reveal of the characters for Justice League seemed to go over really smoothly, to me, but the reviewers say that it was lazy and stupid.

I follow movie news and reviews pretty religiously, but our opinions have NEVER been this different. So I must ask, if you have seen the movie what did you think? Am I seeing the movie with rose colored glasses or are the critics just nit picking the heck out of it?

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

4 thoughts on “Why Are People Hating on Batman v. Superman?

Leave a Reply

