Posted in Reviews, The Dark Towers Series

1. The Dark Tower II: The Drawing of the Three – Stephen King // 1-3-15

“While pursuing his quest for the Dark Tower through a world that is a nightmarishly distorted mirror image of our own, Roland is drawn through a mysterious door that brings him into contemporary America.

Here he links forces with the defiant young Eddie Dean, and with the beautiful, brilliant, and brave Odetta Holmes, in a savage struggle against underworld evil and otherworldly enemies.

Once again, Stephen King has masterfully interwoven dark, evocative fantasy and icy realism.” – amazon.com

Disclaimer : This is number 1, because it is technically the first book I have read in 2016, and I am counting up to 25 (as I previously posted about). After this is up I will be posting the third Dark Tower review, and we will be up to date! 🙂

I didn’t really like the first Dark Tower book, The Gunslinger, if you recall, but it was the opposite for this book…I LOVED IT.

Here we pick up soon after the last book left off, with Roland on a beach. He is dehydrating and forced to fight off some monstrous lobsters (lovingly named “lobstrosities” by King), when he come across 3 inconspicuously placed doors. Through each door he finds an alternate universe from his own that each houses a different person, the prisoner, the lady in the shadows, and death.

In fear of spoiling ANYTHING in this book, I’m not going to explain any more than that, so we will go ahead and get to the good in this book:  

  • Although Roland is our protagonist for the book, he isn’t invincible (FAR from it really). This really adds suspense to the book and many times, I couldn’t figure out the way that he is going to get out of predicaments.
  • This book is FUNNY! I am an avid King reader and I had NO idea he was so funny, until I read this book. The humor is clever, but not hard to pick up on.
  • Behind each door that Roland finds is not only a new person, but even a new writing style. This almost felt like a collection of short stories, that happened to have reoccurring characters, in a good way!
  • I already mentioned that the humor was clever, but really the entire book is clever. Whatever you think is going to happen…it’s not.

The bad :

  • Sometimes the story dragged, and I became uninterested. It wasn’t enough to make me put the book down, but it still took me out the story a little bit.
  • Sometimes the character’s lives depended solely on luck, which succeeded to put me on edge in the moment, but after reflecting on the book, it felt like the heroes didn’t always have a hand in being alive, it was all luck.

I LOVED this book, I was at the edge of my seat the entire time and it made me super excited to continue reading the series!

I rate it 9/10 freestanding doors on a beach

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

One thought on “1. The Dark Tower II: The Drawing of the Three – Stephen King // 1-3-15

Leave a Reply

