Posted in Reviews

A Review for a Book I Couldn’t Finish…

Indiana, 1818. Moonlight falls through the dense woods that surround a one-room cabin, where a nine-year-old Abraham Lincoln kneels at his suffering mother’s bedside. She’s been stricken with something the old-timers call “Milk Sickness.”

“My baby boy…” she whispers before dying.

Only later will the grieving Abe learn that his mother’s fatal affliction was actually the work of a vampire.

When the truth becomes known to young Lincoln, he writes in his journal, “henceforth my life shall be one of rigorous study and devotion. I shall become a master of mind and body. And this mastery shall have but one purpose…” Gifted with his legendary height, strength, and skill with an ax, Abe sets out on a path of vengeance that will lead him all the way to the White House.

Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith was one of the few books I put down for good, recently. Does that mean I hated it? No.

So I am a strong believer in not finishing books when I don’t like, or am not interested in the story. This may be an unforgivable sin to some of you, but hey we all have our demons. Unfortunately, this was one of those books…BUT that does not mean that you shouldn’t read it.While I would usually feed into the “Good and Bad” of the book, this review is going to be set up a little different, since it is a different situation.

So why would I decide to pick up this ridiculous sounding book to start with? Well, my boyfriend read this book and sang nothing but praises of it. On top of that, finding it at a secondhand book store for ~$3 made it impossible to not pick up. I am telling you this because I want you all to understand that this book is not bad and that other people really loved it.

I read about 200 pages into this book before putting it down for good, but found myself wanting to continue to read it for one specific reason. Seth Grahame-Smith approached the “historical fiction” genre in a really clever and interesting way. If you were to do any research (which I didn’t but my boyfriend did) on the events that happen in this book, they actually happened and at the same time. I could really tell that Grahame-Smith put a lot of time and effort into this book and I really appreciate that.

So, if I loved that so much, why couldn’t I finish it? Well, I don’t really like historical fiction (is this even historical fiction?). I don’t find history interesting in general. On top of that, this book digs into the politics of Lincoln’s life, which I find even LESS interesting.

I’m not going to give this a rating, but I would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys history and/or politics.



**Also I would like to thank everyone who helped me hit 50 FOLLOWERS  last night! I’m super grateful and can’t believe this blog is growing so fast!!**

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

12 thoughts on “A Review for a Book I Couldn’t Finish…

  1. Congrats on 50!
    I am highly against putting a book down when I pick it up, but if I really can’t focus because I’m just not interested that I will sometimes put it down, but it is a rare occasion and I usually pick it up again later.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It makes me feel guilty when I quit but if I’m not interested it takes me WAY TOO long to finish a book and ain’t nobody got time for dat

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your 50 followers! I actually have liked most books I fall across because I’m an open-minded reader but I can’t stand not finishing any book I begin. I guess I’m weird like that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

