Posted in Editorials, Reviews, Thoughts on...

Thoughts on Thursdays : YA Novels

So, since about my junior year in high school I unofficially swore off YA novels. Why? I’m not 100% sure…

One factor that I believe contributed to this was the Divergent series. I LOVED the first and second Divergent books but the third one crushed my dreams. As we all know by now, I HATE when books end badly, but I hate even more when a series ends badly. I don’t think that one series should have ruined a whole genre for me, though. Especially since some of my favorite books ever are considered YA.

I honestly believe that I swore off the genre, because I thought I was “too old” or “mature” for it. It got to a point to where I wasn’t comfortable being in the YA section, in fear of being judged, because others might also think I am too old for this genre. I know that that is ridiculous now and I am currently doing my best to maybe integrating YA books back into my ever growing TBR list, because I know I am missing out on some really good reads.

So what did you think?  Have you ever gone through this before, or is it just me? I would really love to know.

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

9 thoughts on “Thoughts on Thursdays : YA Novels

  1. My mother is over 50 & she’ll still go into the YA section. We have zero cares in our family. I only get weird if I wander into a romance section, I don’t know why. Might be all those shirtless guys. They’re haunting.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your never to old for YA. I mean I read middle grade and feel no shame, well written stories are well written stories no matter your age 🙂 I will admit that when I bought 50 shades of gray I did sneak in and out of the section to buy it! haha 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I still love the Children’s and Middle Grade genres, and I’m proud of it! Most of my favorite series came from those genres. I think it doesn’t matter if you’re “too old” for a genre, but how it brings you happiness (and good reads!)!! Hahaha, great post! 🙂 And thank you so much for the follow, I really appreciate it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m well into my 20s and I still read mostly YA. I totally understand the worrying about being judged though. I think YA does get a bad wrap that is mostly unnecessary. I know there are a lot of overused tropes and I feel you on the Divergent thing, but I also think there’s so many wonderful YA books out there. I don’t think you’re ever too old for any kind of books. The Percy Jackson series is one of my favourites and that’s aimed at middle graders, haha. I’m lucky (unlucky?) enough to look 10 years younger than what I am so I don’t have to worry about people thinking I’m too old to be in the YA section, hahaha, so that probably helps haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Well, I’m still in middle school at the moment, but I do LOVE the YA genre because there’s a wide spectrum but I tend to lean more to ones related to tragedy and/or romance. I don’t read much dystopian YA like all the hype.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

