Posted in Editorials, Reviews, Thoughts on...

Thoughts on Thursdays : Counseling/Therapy

This Thursday, I want to talk about something that may just be a little too personal, but it has really been on my mind.

I believe that mental illnesses are something to not be joked around about, and I may do another post all about this another time, but this week I want to focus on finding help by counseling and/or therapy.

I have recently started going to counseling, because I thought what could it hurt? And the answer to that question is…absolutely nothing! If anything it has only helped me through a rather hard time in my life.

I strongly suggest that if anyone is struggling to find nearby counseling service or, if that is something you can’t come by, at least find someone trustworthy who you could talk to about your feelings/life. I promise it will go a long way.

 

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

8 thoughts on “Thoughts on Thursdays : Counseling/Therapy

  1. I also hate it when people joke about mental illness issues as well ;I tell them to at least, mature up, and that we’re not in elementary anymore, but they just go laughing hysterically, I have lost faith in humanity :/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I keep meaning to find someone & schedule a couple therapy sessions for my anxiety, but my anxiety keeps me from getting further than an online search. I’m so glad you found someone & that it’s helping! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would encourage you to really try to power through that anxiety to go. Anxiety is the reason I go and I honestly almost don’t go every single time but I never regret putting myself out of my comfort zone for counseling.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My husband recommended someone he used to see, I’m going to look into him & see if I can get an appointment sometime, either before or after we get back from our trip in a couple weeks. It definitely can’t hurt, especially now that I have actual insurance.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for this post ♥

    I’ve been struggling with mental illness nearly my whole life and had extremely bad experiences with counselors when I was at school (they basically told me to stop being dramatic and that I was just having a bad day like everyone does) and ever since then I’ve had an irrational fear of them and that they won’t believe me. I have borderline agoraphobia so it’s really hard for me to even leave my room some days, but I did actually get my doctor to make an appointment with a psychologist, but I couldn’t get myself to go. I am going to make another appointment though and keep on trying until I can get there.

    I’m so happy you managed to find someone that you’re comfortable with and is helping you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry you had bad experiences that sucks and I’m sorry you have struggled so much. I hope you are able to find someone you can talk to as well

      Like

Leave a Reply

