Posted in Reviews

6. The Road – Cormac McCarthy // 5-2-16

Wow, I managed to read this book in a decent amount of time. I did mention that there was a chance I would be using books to procrastinate and that couldn’t be more true. images (8)

A father and his son walk alone through burned America. Nothing moves in the ravaged landscape save the ash on the wind. It is cold enough to crack stones, and when the snow falls it is gray. The sky is dark. Their destination is the coast, although they don’t know what, if anything, awaits them there. They have nothing; just a pistol to defend themselves against the lawless bands that stalk the road, the clothes they are wearing, a cart of scavenged food—and each other

I enjoyed this book. I have always wanted to read this, and at 2nd and Charles I found it for like $3. How was I supposed to pass that up?

The Good:

  • I don’t usually like dystopians, because (even though my favorite genre is horror) I like my books to be somewhat realistic. This is the kind of post-apocalyptic world that I can get in to. It is how I imagine the world would be, if some tragedy happened.
  • This book was the right kind of sad. It wasn’t melodramatic, but the tragedy also wasn’t glossed over. Again, so realistic.
  • The world building is phenomenal, you can really visualize what McCarthy wants you to.

The Bad:

  • This book is SO vague. For instance, the characters don’t have names. They are just called “The Man” and “The Boy” I have never read any of McCarthy’s work before, so I don’t know if this is a common theme, but it was rather tiring.
  • This book is just highly stylized. It is unorganized, on purpose. There are no quotation marks in this book, AT ALL.This didn’t really bother me, once I got into the book, but at first I was really put off.
  • You never know how old the child is. I assumed around 9, but my friend (who read the book for a class once) said around 5. I feel like, if that is the case, the child acts way too old for his age. This may be because he is growing up in such a crude environment, but I just don’t buy that.

All in all, I wanted to like this book a lot more than I did and I am pretty sad that I didn’t. I’m not going to say I am disappointed in this book and I plan to read more McCarthy in the future.

I would rate this 6.5 out of 10 nameless main characters.

P.S. Cormac is an AWESOME name. I fell in love with it.

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

2 thoughts on “6. The Road – Cormac McCarthy // 5-2-16

Leave a Reply

