Posted in Books

Half Price Books HAUL

I  had been so good about buying books, but then I got near a Half Priced Books and it all went downhill from there.

Ethan Frome & Other Stories  – Edith Wharton

 

Ethan Frome works his unproductive farm and struggles to maintain a bearable existence with his difficult, suspicious, and hypochondriac wife, Zeena. But when Zeena’s vivacious cousin enters their household as a “hired girl”, Ethan finds himself obsessed with her and with the possibilities for happiness she comes to represent.

In one of American fiction’s finest and most intense narratives, Edith Wharton moves this ill-starred trio toward their tragic destinies. Different in both tone and theme from Wharton’s other works, Ethan Frome has become perhaps her most enduring and most widely read novel.

I realized I have read very little classics, so this is one of many that I plan on reading in the near future.

A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

 

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

I’ve had this book on my list to buy for a long time, and then I heard really great things about Patrick Ness all over the place. I’m really excited about this book!

Jemima J – Jane Green

 

Jemima Jones is overweight. About one hundred pounds overweight. Treated like a maid by her thin and social-climbing roommates, and lorded over by the beautiful Geraldine (less talented but better paid) at the Kilburn Herald, Jemima finds that her only consolation is food. Add to this her passion for her charming, sexy, and unobtainable colleague Ben, and Jemima knows her life is in need of a serious change. When she meets Brad, an eligible California hunk, over the Internet, she has the perfect opportunity to reinvent herself–as JJ, the slim, beautiful, gym-obsessed glamour girl. But when her long-distance Romeo demands that they meet, she must conquer her food addiction to become the bone-thin model of her e-mails–no small feat.

I must say, books about overweight women are a huge guilty pleasure of mine. I’m just a sucker for books like this. (I do hate this cover thought)

Just Listen – Sarah Dessen

 

Last year, Annabel was “the girl who has everything” — at least that’s the part she played in the television commercial for Kopf’s Department Store.

This year, she’s the girl who has nothing: no best friend because mean-but-exciting Sophie dropped her, no peace at home since her older sister became anorexic, and no one to sit with at lunch. Until she meets Owen Armstrong.

Have you ever forgotten if you read a book or not? Because this book sounds so familiar to me, and I love Sarah Dessen, so I think this may actually be a reread. (oops)

Maus I : A Survivors Tale : My Father Bleeds History – Art Spiegelman

 

A story of a Jewish survivor of Hitler’s Europe and his son, a cartoonist who tries to come to terms with his father’s story and history itself.

I’ve wanted to read this for a long time, because I think the holocaust retelling is super interesting and creative and I really want to get into graphic novels.

Eragon – Christopher Paolini

 

One boy. One dragon. A world of adventure.
When Eragon finds a polished blue stone in the forest, he thinks it is the lucky discovery of a poor farm boy; perhaps it will buy his family meat for the winter. But when the stone brings a dragon hatchling, Eragon realizes he has stumbled upon a legacy nearly as old as the Empire itself.

Overnight his simple life is shattered, and he is thrust into a perilous new world of destiny, magic, and power. With only an ancient sword and the advice of an old storyteller for guidance, Eragon and the fledgling dragon must navigate the dangerous terrain and dark enemies of an Empire ruled by a king whose evil knows no bounds.

Can Eragon take up the mantle of the legendary Dragon Riders? The fate of the Empire may rest in his hands.

I didn’t actually plan on buying this, I was just going to get it from the library , but I found a REALLY nice copy for like $7, so I couldn’t pass it up.

Doctor Sleep – Stephen King

 

Stephen King returns to the characters and territory of one of his most popular novels ever,The Shining, in this instantly riveting novel about the now middle-aged Dan Torrance (the boy protagonist of The Shining) and the very special twelve-year-old girl he must save from a tribe of murderous paranormals.

What is a book haul without a Stephen King first edition cover. Sure, this one is pretty new, but I don’t discriminate.

I’m so excited for my new books, but now I will never catch up to my TBR.

 

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

7 thoughts on “Half Price Books HAUL

Leave a Reply

