Posted in Music

Music This Month : MAY

I’m going to try out something new, so tell me if you enjoy it or not. So far on this blog I talk about two things I feel very passionate about, books and movies, but I have been leaving out one of the most important parts of my life, music.

For this segment I would like to just highlight some music that I really loved this month. It doesn’t necessarily mean it is a new release, it just had to appeal to my mood in the month of May.

Here is my May playlist on Spotify:

 

Pity Party – Melanie Martinez

I love Melanie Martinez, I first heard her on the American Horror Story – Freakshow teaser trailer, and have been a fan ever since. This song samples the chorus from It’s My Party – Leslie Gore.

True Colors – Zedd, Kesha

This is Kesha’s first song since being separated from her agent who we all know was not a good man. You can really tell Kesha but her heart and soul into this song and the pairing of Zedd and Kesha is genius.

Sax – Fleur East

As far as I can tell, this is Fleur East’s  first single and it is SO fun! This kind of reminds me of Uptown Funk – Bruno Mars, because it is so funky. It’s even got some disco elements in there!

Ride – Twenty One Pilots

Twenty One Pilots have quickly become one of my favorite bands. I have loved every song of theirs, and this is no exception. My favorite thing about them is that they’e got some really serious themes in their songs, but it sounds so upbeat.

Bored To Death – blink-182

blink-182 is another of my favorite bands of all time (you’ll see a trend of that in this post), so you can only imagine my excitement when I saw they put out a new single in late April. It is everything I could have hoped for!

Don’t Threaten Me With A Good Time – Panic! At The Disco

Guess what Panic! At The Disco is, one of my favorite bands. If this song hadn’t come out, they would have still been present here I’m sure. Panic! At The Disco always has such cool and catchy hooks. Also I find Brendon Urie’s voice so attractive.

King Of The World – Weezer

Weezer is one of my favorite bands. Now that we have that out of the way, when I saw they had a new album out, I got really excited (much like blink-182). This is classic Weezer (also they are touring WITH PANIC! AT THE DISCO now so I might kill someone for tickets).

Ophelia – The Lumineers

Ok so I’m not the hugest Lumineers fan, but I have been wearing out Ophelia. It is so catchy and fun.

Dangerous Woman – Ariana Grande

I’m changing up the genre a little bit, but this song makes ME feel like a dangerous woman. This song is so sassy, I get really into this in the shower.

Lost Boy – Ruth B

I have been so into this song for awhile actually. I think it is gorgeous and I when I’m in the mood for something soft and slow, this is my go to.

Spirits – The Strumbellas

This is another song that has some darker themes, but a lighter sound. I love songs like this because they don’t really bring you down, but still make you think.

The Sound Of Silence – Disturbed

This a gorgeous and haunting cover of the classic Simon and Garfunkel sound. The first time I heard this, it actually sent a tear to my eye, and gives me chills every time. I would venture to say this is my actual favorite song I have heard this month and if you don’t listen to any other but this, I wouldn’t even be mad.

The Boxer – Jerry Douglas, Mumford and Sons

Another Simon and Garfunkel cover? Coincidence? Not really, I went through a huge Simon and Garfunkel kick this month and came across both songs in the midst of that. Jerry Douglas and Mumford and Sons are perfect to cover Simon and Garfunkel, because they are really able to maintain the same sound and feel that the original version had.

 

I hope you enjoyed this, because I sure did! If you have listened to these song, or listen to them after reading this post, tell me what you think, I would love to know!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

2 thoughts on “Music This Month : MAY

Leave a Reply

