Posted in Books, Classics, Reviews

7. Watership Down – Richard Adams // 5-29-16

Out of all the books I read this year, this one surprised me the most.

Set in England’s Downs, a once idyllic rural landscape, this stirring tale of adventure, courage and survival follows a band of very special creatures on their flight from the intrusion of man and the certain destruction of their home. Led by a stouthearted pair of friends, they journey forth from their native Sandleford Warren through the harrowing trials posed by predators and adversaries, to a mysterious promised land and a more perfect society.

I got this book as a Christmas present from my sister, who recommended it highly. Although I was excited to receive the book, my sister and I have had very different taste, in the past. Luckily we agreed on this one.

The Good:

  • The introduction of this book made me realize that this was a good fit for me. In this Adams writes about how he came about writing Watership Down and explains some of the intricacies of the book, which I will touch on later. The last line of the Introduction, though, is was really pulled me in. It said,

I want to emphasize that Watership Down was never intended to be some sort of allegory or parable. It is simply a story about rabbits that I made up and told, in the car.

  • As previously mentioned, this book is cleverly intricate, in that it makes you feel like the rabbits really do have an entire culture of their own. They have their own language and beliefs, but none of this I ever found confusing. I think, in the end, these little things really added to the story and made it even more believable.
  • All of the characters are easily distinguishable, even though they are just rabbits.
  • This is not a children’s book. It is real and believable, and even though it could probably be enjoyed by children, I believe this was written with adults in mind.
  • This reminded me of the Warriors series, a lot. I loved those when I was younger, and I
    wonder if Erin Hunter drew inspiration from Watership Down.

 

 

The Bad :

  • This is an almost 500 page book and it sometimes felt like it was dragging on forever. This is not because it was boring, by any means and I believe every page was necessary for the story, I just found myself having a hard time wanting to read it some times.
  • I mentioned earlier that the rabbits had their own religion, and I really enjoyed that. However, sometimes the rabbits would take a break from furthering on their current adventure to tell stories of their religion. Sometimes I really liked this, but other times I wished they would have just gone on doing whatever they were doing instead of stopping for storytelling.

I was so pleasantly surprised by this book! It was everything I wanted it to be, and more. If you are in the mood for a simple read, about some rabbits and their lives, I would strongly recommend you pick this up.

 

I would rate this 9.5 out of 10 Hrududus

P.S. – Hrududu – rabbit word for a motored vehicle (presumably after the sound they make).

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

2 thoughts on “7. Watership Down – Richard Adams // 5-29-16

Leave a Reply

