Posted in Wrap Ups/TBR

May Wrap Up / Exciting Things In June

May Wrap Up

At first I thought this wrap up was going to be embarrassing, but I happened to catch up towards the end of the month.

 During April I:

  • Read 2 books
  • Listened to a book
  • Watched 5 movies
  • Reached a milestone!

Books

The books I read were The Road – Cormac McCarthy (rated 6.5/10) and Watership Down – Richard Adams (rated 9.5/10). In terms of the books I read they were really polar opposites. The Road was dark, and actually disappointed me. Watership Down was a light, fun read and it really surprised me how much I loved it.

The book I listened to was The Devil Wears Prada – Lauren Weisberger (a review is coming soon). It was the first audio book I have listened to in awhile, and I really liked the experience. I also liked the book more than I expected to.

Favorite book I read this month – Watership Down – Richard Adams. It might even be my favorite book I have read so far this year.

Movies

I watched a TON of movies this month, but was never particularly inspired to write reviews over any of them.

I watched RENT for the the first time, and loved it! I would rate it 9/10! Another musical I watched (because I love musicals) was Across The Universe, a musical based around The Beatles’ music. I like this movie, and the critics loved it, but it a little to stylized for my taste. I would rate it 7.75/10

I introduced my friends to a classic horror movie, The Exorcist. I loved this movie already, I would rate it 8/10 because it is a little slow.

I had a movie night with my mom a while back and watched  The Intern, the new movie starring Anne Hathaway and Robert De Niro. It was cute, but sometimes became really silly. I wish it would have been more consistent, so I would rate it a 6/10.

Finally, I saw Captain America: Civil War, and LOVED it. I decided not to review it, because I had to wait a long time to see it, so anyone interested in a review would have seen it long before me. I do have another post planned about this, coming out soon. Regardless, this movie was everything I wanted it to be and more, I would rate it a 9.5/10

100 Followers!

This month I hit 100 followers! That is 100 people more than I expected and I am so excited and grateful for every single one of y’all.

 

Exciting Things In June

 

Books I am Excited About:

  • I am currently reading Trainspotting – Irvine Welsh. It seems like a difficult read, but I am excited to read it, for the experience.
  • A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness. I have heard nothing but good things about this book, so I am excited to pick this up.
  • Eragon – Christopher Paolini. I plan to start this series this month.

Movies I am Excited About:

  • X-Men Apocalypse – May 27, PG-13: I haven’t seen this yet, but I will soon. I am so excited!
  • Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping – June 3, R: If you don’t know what this is, it is The Lonely Island’s latest movie. It seems to be making fun of Justin Bieber’s documentary Never Say Never (which I loved when I was 13). I looks HILARIOUS!
  • The Conjuring 2: The Endfield Experiment– June 10, R – The Conjuring was SO good, so of course I want to see the second.

 

 

What are you excited for in June? I would love to know! Thanks for reading!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

6 thoughts on “May Wrap Up / Exciting Things In June

  1. Great post. I watched the Intern and agree with you. It actually got boring at some-point but yeah it was a cute movie. Exorcism is great though the last one that I watched was The Exorcism of Emily Ross which gave me nightmares for ages. Glad you enjoyed Devil Wears Prada. I liked the book and the movie too though I have never listened to any audio-book.

    Plans for June, read a bunch of books, watch Reign and The 100 Season 3. That is what I have planned. Enjoy the new month.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Exorcism of Emily Rose was such an intense movie 😳

      Audio books are good for road trips, that’s why I was listening to one l.

      Like

Leave a Reply

