Posted in Books, Reviews

8. The Devil Wears Prada -Lauren Weisberger (Audio) Book REVIEW // 5-30-16

I haven’t listened to a audio book since I was in elementary schools, so I wondered if I would still like it. The answer? Yes!

A delightfully dishy novel about the all-time most impossible boss in the history of impossible bosses.
Andrea Sachs, a small-town girl fresh out of college, lands the job “a million girls would die for.” Hired as the assistant to Miranda Priestly, the high-profile, fabulously successful editor of “Runway “magazine, Andrea finds herself in an office that shouts “Prada! Armani! Versace!” at every turn, a world populated by impossibly thin, heart-wrenchingly stylish women and beautiful men clad in fine-ribbed turtlenecks and tight leather pants that show off their lifelong dedication to the gym. With breathtaking ease, Miranda can turn each and every one of these hip sophisticates into a scared, whimpering child.

I had a road trip , this last weekend, so I was looking for an audio book. You can imagine my excitement when I saw The Devil Wears Prada on a shelf, because it has been on my TBR for a while (and I love the movie!).

The Good:

  •  I loved all the characters in this story. Even those who were written to be unlikable had a devilish charm (see what I did there).
  • This is an accurate representation of life in New York. I love when books/movies show how it isn’t as glamorous as others do.
  • The fashion industry sounds really cool, and I loved hearing about it.
  • The actress who recorded the book is Rachel Leigh Cook, the main girl from She’s All That. She does a pretty good job. Her voice is pleasant and it really isn’t distracting when she does other voices for different characters (yes even men).

The Bad:

  • If I hadn’t listened to this all in one sitting, I think I would have lost interest in it. It is very repetitive and low action. I enjoyed listening to it, but I can’t say I would love it as a book.

All in all, I liked the story enough, but I’m not sure if it would be a great read. If you have read it, tell me what you thought!

I would rate it a 7 out of 10 designer brands!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

2 thoughts on “8. The Devil Wears Prada -Lauren Weisberger (Audio) Book REVIEW // 5-30-16

  1. Nice Review.I have had the book on TBR for almost two years now.Loved the movie but wasn’t too keen on the book.This is mainly because of Candace Bushnell books.She has sort of the same movies/TV Series but I have always struggled with the books.Glad you enjoyed the audio book though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

