Posted in Hauls

My Stephen King Collection

As you may know, I collect Stephen King books (especially the first edition hardback covers). Including paperbacks, my collection includes 23 books, and I’m very proud of it. Because of this, I feel like sharing them with you all is long overdo, and I’m really excited to show you, my Stephen King collection.

(P.S. These books are in no particular order and the dates are of when the edition came out, not the original publication date.)

Paperbacks

 

 

On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft – 10th Anniversary Edition (2010)

IMG_2825.jpg

Part memoir, part master class by one of the bestselling authors of all time, this superb volume is a revealing and practical view of the writer’s craft, comprising the basic tools of the trade every writer must have. King’s advice is grounded in his vivid memories from childhood through his emergence as a writer, from his struggling early career to his widely reported near-fatal accident in 1999—and how the inextricable link between writing and living spurred his recovery. Brilliantly structured, friendly and inspiring, On Writing will empower and entertain everyone who reads it—fans, writers, and anyone who loves a great story well told.

Here we are starting off with a bang. I love this book. Stephen King is such an inspiration as an author, and this book really highlights that. This book got me out  of a year long reading slump, and I haven’t stopped reading since.

 

Joyland (2013)

IMG_2826.jpg

College student Devin Jones took the summer job at Joyland hoping to forget the girl who broke his heart. But he wound up facing something far more terrible: the legacy of a vicious murder, the fate of a dying child, and dark truths about life—and what comes after—that would change his world forever.

This book hasn’t gotten as much attention as his other books and it is really a shame. I read this book right when it came out (if not slightly before) because I worked at a library one summer and it really got me into King. I had read some other King books before, but this one really sucked me in. It isn’t really a horror story, more of a mystery, but it is great!

 

Cell (2006)

IMG_9848.jpg

Mobile phones deliver the apocalypse to millions of unsuspecting humans by wiping their brains of any humanity, leaving only aggressive and destructive impulses behind. Those without cell phones, like illustrator Clayton Riddell and his small band of “normies,” must fight for survival, and their journey to find Clayton’s estranged wife and young son rockets the book toward resolution.

I must admit, I don’t love all of King’s books. I tried reading this once, but couldn’t get through it. I might try to read it again though.

 

The Shining (2013)

IMG_2828.jpg

Danny was only five years old but in the words of old Mr Halloran he was a ‘shiner’, aglow with psychic voltage. When his father became caretaker of the Overlook Hotel his visions grew frighteningly out of control.

Everyone knows The Shining. I have read it before, but I intend to reread this very soon. I remember loving it, but don’t remember anything about it.

 

Misery (1988)

IMG_2830.jpg

 

Paul Sheldon. He’s a bestselling novelist who has finally met his biggest fan. Her name is Annie Wilkes and she is more than a rabid reader – she is Paul’s nurse, tending his shattered body after an automobile accident. But she is also his captor, keeping him prisoner in her isolated house.

This is the oldest of his paperbacks that I own. I love its look and feel. I will get more on my thoughts of this book later.

 

The Mist (2007)

IMG_2831.jpg

It’s a hot, lazy day, perfect for a cookout, until you see those strange dark clouds. Suddenly a violent storm sweeps across the lake and ends as abruptly and unexpectedly as it had begun. Then comes the mist…creeping slowly, inexorably into town, where it settles and waits, trapping you in the supermarket with dozens of others, cut off from your families and the world. The mist is alive, seething with unearthly sounds and movements. What unleashed this terror? Was it the Arrowhead Project—the top secret government operation that everyone has noticed but no one quite understands? And what happens when the provisions have run out and you’re forced to make your escape, edging blindly through the dim light?

Oh man. I LOVE this book. This is another book I read in the summer I worked at the library (I call it my summer of Stephen King). I always recommend this to people who want to get started into Stephen King’s writing, because it includes most of his tropes like ultra religious characters, and it’s not very long. I would venture to say this is in my top five favorite King books ever.

 

Carrie (2002)

IMG_2832.jpg

Carrie knew she should not use the terrifying power she possessed… But one night at her senior prom, Carrie was scorned and humiliated just one time too many, and in a fit of uncontrollable fury she turned her clandestine game into a weapon of horror and destruction…

This is Stephen King’s first book, and man it is CREEPY. I wouldn’t hug my mother for weeks after reading it. This is another book I recommend to those who want to start reading King, because it is his first. Most of his books reference his other books, but since this is the first, you’ll understand it all.

 

The Dark Tower (Books 1-4 Box Set) ((All from 2003))

IMG_2835

This is the only box set I own, and I love it. The only issue I have is WHY isn’t there a box set containing all the Dark Tower books? It drives me crazy! Books 5-8 don’t even MATCH these books. It gives me an aneurysm I swear.

 

The Gunslinger (The Dark Tower I)

IMG_2839

In The Gunslinger (originally published in 1982), King introduces his most enigmatic hero, Roland Deschain of Gilead, the Last Gunslinger. He is a haunting, solitary figure at first, on a mysterious quest through a desolate world that eerily mirrors our own. Pursuing the man in black, an evil being who can bring the dead back to life, Roland is a good man who seems to leave nothing but death in his wake.

This isn’t my favorite King book, by far. It is essentially all exposition, but is so worth getting through to read the rest of the books. You can see my full review of it here. If you like westerns or science fiction you’ll like this. You have got to read a lot of King to get the most out of this series, though. It is FULL of references that you would never catch otherwise.

 

 The Drawing of the Three (The Dark Tower II)

IMG_2838

While pursuing his quest for the Dark Tower through a world that is a nightmarishly distorted mirror image of our own, Roland is drawn through a mysterious door that brings him into contemporary America.

Here he links forces with the defiant young Eddie Dean, and with the beautiful, brilliant, and brave Odetta Holmes, in a savage struggle against underworld evil and otherworldly enemies.

This is still my favorite of The Dark Tower books I’e read so far. You can see my review of it here. This is still an exposition heavy book, but is written in a really interesting way.

*** SLIGHT SPOILER ALERT FOR THE DRAWING OF THREE IN THE BLURB FOR THE WASTE LANDS ***

The Waste Lands (The Dark Tower III)

IMG_2837.jpg

Several months have passed, and Roland’s two new tet-mates have become proficient gunslingers. Eddie Dean has given up heroin, and Odetta’s two selves have joined, becoming the stronger and more balanced personality of Susannah Dean. But while battling The Pusher in 1977 New York, Roland altered ka by saving the life of Jake Chambers, a boy who—in Roland’s where and when—has already died. Now Roland and Jake exist in different worlds, but they are joined by the same madness: the paradox of double memories.

You can see my full review for this book here. I really love that each book includes even more than the last. They definitely do not follow a pattern, which is something I often have a problem with in series.

Wizard and Glass (The Dark Tower IV)

IMG_2836.jpg

Roland of Gilead and his fellow pilgrims determine to reach the Dark Tower, but their quest is rife with confrontation, conflict and sacrifice – from a vast computer system which bargains in riddles to Roland’s old enemy Walter and the wizard’s glass.

I’m currently reading this and really enjoying it. More thoughts on this will be up soon.

Wolves of Calla (The Dark Tower V)

IMG_9334.jpg

Roland Deschain and his ka-tet are bearing southeast through the forests of Mid-World on their quest for the Dark Tower. Their path takes them to the outskirts of Calla Bryn Sturgis. But beyond the tranquil farm town, the ground rises to the hulking darkness of Thunderclap, the source of a terrible affliction that is stealing the town’s soul. The wolves of Thunderclap and their unspeakable depredation are coming. To resist them is to risk all, but these are odds the gunslingers are used to. Their guns, however, will not be enough….

I obviously haven’t read this yet, but I think this has the coolest title so far in the series.

 

 

Hardbacks

(Oh boy now this is the good stuff.)

 

IT (1986)

I have 2 copies of this :

To the children, the town was their whole world. To the adults, knowing better, Derry, Maine was just their home town: familiar, well-ordered for the most part. A good place to live.

It was the children who saw – and felt – what made Derry so horribly different. In the storm drains, in the sewers, IT lurked, taking on the shape of every nightmare, each one’s deepest dread. Sometimes IT reached up, seizing, tearing, killing . . .

The adults, knowing better, knew nothing.

Time passed and the children grew up, moved away. The horror of IT was deep-buried, wrapped in forgetfulness. Until they were called back, once more to confront IT as IT stirred and coiled in the sullen depths of their memories, reaching up again to make their past nightmares a terrible present reality.

This is the most exciting find, because IT is such a popular King book. I have actually never seen another copy of IT in any second hand bookstores other than these two. So why, if I found such a gorgeous edition (left), do I keep this copy that is falling apart (right). Well there are two reasons. The main one is that I can’t throw out the copy that I originally read, because it is my all time my favorite book. The second reason is that this is the book that made me want to start collecting, as well.

I could write a whole post about this (and may write one some day) but I don’t want to drag out this post any more than it already will be.

Desperation (1996)

IMG_2812

There’s a place along Interstate 50 that some call the loneliest place on Earth. It’s known as Desperation, Nevada.
It’s not a very nice place to live. It’s an even worse place to die.
Let the battle against evil begin.
Welcome to … Desperation

I haven’t read this book yet, but I’m so interested in it! I will probably get to this really soon.

The Regulators – Richard Bachman (1996)

IMG_2811 (1).jpg

There’s a place in Wentworth, Ohio, where summer is in full swing. It’s called Poplar Street. Up until now it’s been a nice place to live. The idling red van around the corner is about to change all that. Let the battle against evil begin.

Earlier I mentioned that King references his own books in other books.. All his books tie into each other, and The Regulators and Desperation are a great example of this. King wrote Desperation under his own name then wrote The Regulators under Bachman, his pen name. These books occur in parallel universes (from what I understand without reading either). How cool is that?

 

Misery (1988)

IMG_2807.jpg

Paul Sheldon. He’s a bestselling novelist who has finally met his biggest fan. Her name is Annie Wilkes and she is more than a rabid reader – she is Paul’s nurse, tending his shattered body after an automobile accident. But she is also his captor, keeping him prisoner in her isolated house.

Hi Misery, nice to see you again. I said that I would talk about this later and here it is. I love Misery. Another of my favorites. It’s probably in a tie with The Mist. I think this is another good one one to jump in to as your first King book. I was so excited when I received this one as a gift.

 

Dolores Claiborne (1993)

IMG_2808.jpg

Suspected of killing Vera Donovan, her wealthy employer, Dolores Claiborne tells police the story of her life, harkening back to her disintegrating marriage and the suspicious death of her violent husband, Joe St. George, thirty years earlier. Dolores also tells of Vera’s physical and mental decline and of her loyalty to an employer who has become emotionally demanding in recent years.

I haven’t read this one (I know I know I should read my books before I buy more, but I have a problem.) and honestly don’t know anything about it other than that people really like this one.

 

Insomnia (1994)

IMG_2842 (1).jpg

 

 

Ralph Roberts hasn’t been sleeping well lately. Every morning he wakes just a little bit earlier until pretty soon, he isn’t sleeping at all. It wouldn’t be so bad if not for the strange hallucinations – and the nightmares that keep coming to life.

Again, haven’t read it, but I’ve heard you should really read it before reading The Dark Tower books (oops). Also, you should read The Stand before The Dark Tower books (another mistake of mine.)

 

Pet Semetary (1983) – First Edition

IMG_2813.jpg

Sometimes dead is better….When the Creeds move into a beautiful old house in rural Maine, it all seems too good to be true: physician father, beautiful wife, charming little daughter, adorable infant son — and now an idyllic home. As a family, they’ve got it all…right down to the friendly cat.But the nearby woods hide a blood-chilling truth — more terrifying than death itself…and hideously more powerful.

This is the only actual First Edition that I own and that’s so exciting. Unfortunately this is one of my least favorite King books. I thought this was a universal thought, but after looking at Goodreads reviews I realize that’s not true. Sure this book is one of his goriest but I think it should have been a lot shorter. Maybe I’ll do a full post on this one as well.

 

Dreamcatcher (2001)

IMG_2815.jpg

Four lifelong friends gather in the woods of western Maine for their annual hunting trip. When they were young, they were bound together forever by an act of bravery involving a fifth friend, whose influence has given these men special powers. Their trip is disrupted when a stranger, disoriented and delirious, wanders into camp, muttering about light in the sky. Before long, the friends find themselves pitted against an alien invasion and must draw on their old friend’s strength once again to fight for their lives.

Another I haven’t read. This is one of my favorite covers out of my whole collection. I think it’s gorgeous. An interesting fact about this book is that it was written right after King was hit by a car. Needless to say he was really broken up, and was super  high on painkillers. It apparently makes for a super weird book.

 

The Dead Zone (1979)

IMG_2818.jpg

Johnny, the small boy who skated at breakneck speed into an accident that for one horrifying moment plunged him into The Dead Zone.

Johnny Smith, the small-town schoolteacher who spun the wheel of fortune and won a four-and-a-half-year trip into The Dead Zone.

John Smith, who awakened from an interminable coma with an accursed power—the power to see the future and the terrible fate awaiting mankind in The Dead Zone.

Both my oldest and newest book in my collection. I haven’t read it and really don’t know anything about other than it looks really nice.

 

Christine (1983)

IMG_2820

Evil is alive in Libertyville. It inhabits a custom-painted red and white 1958 Plymouth Fury and the teenage boy, Arnold Cunningham, who buys it from the strange Roland LeBay.

Helped by Arnold’s girlfriend Leigh Cabot, Dennis Guilder embarks to find out the real truth behind Christine and finds more than he bargained for: from murder, to suicide, and a strange feeling that surrounds Christine — she gets even with anyone that crosses her! Can Dennis save Arnold from the evil that is Christine?

This is the first King book I ever read and I can still say, to this day, that it’s one of my favorites. This is also one of my favorite covers that I’ve got.

 

Doctor Sleep (2013)

IMG_2822

On highways across America, a tribe of people called The True Knot travel in search of sustenance. They look harmless—mostly old, lots of polyester, and married to their RVs. But as Dan Torrance knows, and spunky twelve-year-old Abra Stone learns, The True Knot are quasi-immortal, living off the “steam” that children with the “shining” produce when they are slowly tortured to death.

Haunted by the inhabitants of the Overlook Hotel where he spent one horrific childhood year, Dan has been drifting for decades, desperate to shed his father’s legacy of despair, alcoholism, and violence. Finally, he settles in a New Hampshire town, an AA community that sustains him, and a job at a nursing home where his remnant “shining” power provides the crucial final comfort to the dying. Aided by a prescient cat, he becomes “Doctor Sleep.”

Then Dan meets the evanescent Abra Stone, and it is her spectacular gift, the brightest shining ever seen, that reignites Dan’s own demons and summons him to a battle for Abra’s soul and survival. This is an epic war between good and evil, a gory, glorious story that will thrill the millions of devoted readers ofThe Shining and satisfy anyone new to the territory of this icon in the King canon.

I’ve mentioned so many times that I’m waiting to reread The Shining to read this. I love this cover and I can’t wait to read it.

 

 

 

And that’s it! If you made it to the end of this post, you are so strong. Sorry this was so long. 23 books is a lot, but 23 Stephen King books is even more than that! I love my collection and I hope you do too!

 

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

5 thoughts on “My Stephen King Collection

  1. Oh my god, this is amazing 😍 I really can’t believe I haven’t read a Stephen King book yet. My mum was a huge fan of his movies and books. I was so terrified of The Shining when I was younger that I refused to let my parents watch it hahahaha. I’m definitely going to make it a goal to read some of his books this year. I own Carrie so I think I’ll definitely start with that one 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

