Posted in Books, Classics, Reviews

11. Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck REVIEW

This book is on so many of the “Books you need to read before you die lists” that I couldn’t escape it for long. So what did I think of this age-old classic? Let’s find out!

890

PG-13 Content (Language and violence); 112 pages

The compelling story of two outsiders striving to find their place in an unforgiving world. Drifters in search of work, George and his simple-minded friend Lennie have nothing in the world except each other and a dream–a dream that one day they will have some land of their own. Eventually they find work on a ranch in California’s Salinas Valley, but their hopes are doomed as Lennie, struggling against extreme cruelty, misunderstanding and feelings of jealousy, becomes a victim of his own strength.

The Good:

  • Obviously this book is a classic for a reason. I believe it is because of the honest view of mental disabilities and their affect on those around them, especially loved ones.
  • Eddie and Lenny’s relationship is really touching. Eddie looks out for Lenny even when he doesn’t need to, but it does hold Eddie back . It is nice to see a character with a truly good heart who expects nothing from his good deeds.
  • This book is heartbreaking. If you don’t know the ending I won’t spoil it for you, but have tissues handy.

The Bad:

  • Calling this a book is generous, as it is more of a novella. Now I don’t have an issue with this alone, but they introduce so many characters in the short story that I did’t feel like I had enough time to get to know them.
  • I’m sure it was supposed be this way, but I was pretty uncomfortable throughout the entire book. Usually this doesn’t bother me, as I love horror and thrillers, but it really took me out of the story.

 

Overall I was kind of disappointed with this book. I wanted it to be amazing and it was just meh.

  • Characters – 3/5 (Too short with too many characters)
  • Plot                -3/5 (It was fine, nothing spectacular)
  • Writing        -4/5 (You really feel there)
  • Uniqueness-3/5 (Good representation of mental illness)

 

Overall I rate it 3.25 bunny rabbits out of 5

 

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? I would love to know!

 

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

4 thoughts on “11. Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck REVIEW

  1. I actually read it for the first time when I was, like, 9 or 10? Whoops.
    It was a very interesting story with a lot of emotion in it’s few pages. Reading it the first time, I understood what happened but then I kind of didn’t. Reading it as I grew up, I fully understood the story and the ending really did make me sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read it when I was around 14 for the first time and thought it sucked balls. Then I read it again last year (20 years later) and could appreciate it a lot more! It’s more of a novella indeed and it will never be in my top 10 of books or anything, but hey, it’s good and different 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

