Posted in Books, Reviews

13. Murder on the Orient Express – Agatha Christie REVIEW

Agatha Christie is my sister’s favorite author, so it was just a matter of time before I picked her books up. Did I like it? Let’s find out!

16304

Just after midnight, a snowdrift stopped the Orient Express in its tracks. The luxurious train was surprisingly full for the time of the year. But by the morning there was one passenger fewer. A passenger lay dead in his compartment, stabbed a dozen times, his door locked from the inside.

PG (Some language and violence); 322 pages

The Good:

  • The main character, Hercule Poirot, was awesome, andI never felt that he was a super human. I was so glad to find out that he is a reoccurring character in Christie’s books.
  • Speaking of characters, there were a ton in this book, but I felt like I knew each and every one personally.
  • Christie didn’t overwrite, which I really appreciated. In a mystery, too many words would bog down the story and ruin the ending.
  • The layout of the chapters was really clean and easy to follow. For most of the book, each chapter was an interrogation of one or two of the characters, so I never felt like I was drowning in information.
  • There were so many twists and turns in the story. Of course I’m not going to spoil it for you, but just keep in mind, when you think you’ve got it figured out, you probably haven’t.

The Bad:

  • The only thing I could find that was even remotely wrong was that it was a little slow to start up, but once it gets started, buckle up because it’s a wild ride.

 

This mystery blew my mind, if you love a good mystery this is a staple that you have to read!

  • Characters  – 5/5 ( All were effectively fleshed out.)
  • Plot                – 5/5 ( Being on a train made the story feel claustrophobic.
  • Writing         – 5/5 ( Everything was set up perfectly and the story was compelling.)
  • Uniqueness – 5/5 (All the twists and turns made it interesting)

Overall I give this 5 Red Silk Kimonos out of 5!

 

Have you read this book? What did you think about it? I would love to know!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

2 thoughts on “13. Murder on the Orient Express – Agatha Christie REVIEW

Leave a Reply

