Posted in Books, Reviews

17. The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams REVIEW

I was in the mood for a fun easy read, and I’ve always heard great things about this book. Did I like this book? Let’s find out!

161493

PG (Some space violence) : 159 pages

Seconds before the Earth is demolished to make way for a galactic freeway, Arthur Dent is plucked off the planet by his friend Ford Prefect, a researcher for the revised edition of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy who, for the last fifteen years, has been posing as an out-of-work actor.

Together this dynamic pair begin a journey through space aided by quotes from The Hitchhiker’s Guide (“A towel is about the most massively useful thing an interstellar hitchhiker can have”) and a galaxy-full of fellow travelers: Zaphod Beeblebrox–the two-headed, three-armed ex-hippie and totally out-to-lunch president of the galaxy; Trillian, Zaphod’s girlfriend (formally Tricia McMillan), whom Arthur tried to pick up at a cocktail party once upon a time zone; Marvin, a paranoid, brilliant, and chronically depressed robot; Veet Voojagig, a former graduate student who is obsessed with the disappearance of all the ballpoint pens he bought over the years.

The Good :

  • Okay, let’s start with something you have already heard about this book. Its HILARIOUS! I have never laughed so hard while reading a book. Seriously, the humor alone is a huge reason to pick up this book.
  • This is a classic space adventure, done well. There are lasers, spaceships, and aliens. What more can you ask for?
  • I liked all the characters. They were all pretty unique and so funny. Even those written to be slightly annoying are likable.
  • There are so many unique ideas, in this book. Most are for jokes, but the majority of this book has some sort of element that I have never read in another book before.

The Bad:

  • I felt like the characters got out of sticky situations too easily. Most of the time, it was because it was setting up a joke, but I would still like to see my protagonists using their skills.
  • The ending of this book was weak. I understand that this is a series, and it’s setting up for the next book, but regardless I expect it to have a solid ending. As you may know, a bad ending to a book is one of my reading pet peeves.

I really enjoyed reading this, it made me laugh out loud like twenty times. If you like science fiction, or to laugh, check this book out!

  • Characters – 3/5 (They were pretty average.)
  • Plot               – 3/5 (Basic end of the world/space adventure story. Nothing special.)
  • Writing        – 4/5 (Super funny!)
  • Uniqueness- 4/5 (Too many unique things to count!)

Overall I give the 3.5 Towels out of 5!

 

Have you read this book? What did you think about it? I would love to know!

 

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

5 thoughts on “17. The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams REVIEW

  1. I read this book years ago, but I think I remember giving it a rating similar to yours. It was funny and entertaining, but it didn’t blow my mind or anything. My favorite part was robot (I think his name is Martin?). Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely loved this book when I first read it but it wasn’t all that original. Speaking in end of the world science fiction category. But its still a hilarious book to read!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

