Posted in Reviews

20. The Regulators – Richard Bachman (Stephen King) REVIEW

Hey guy! So sorry that I haven’t posted in a while, computer is still broken, so I am using this dinosaur of a computer. I know this isn’t a great excuse, but I am incredibly uninspired by this machine.

Anyway, I picked up one of the books from my Stephen King collection recently, The Regulators. I was extremely excited about this book, did it live up to my expectations? Let’s find out!

66368

From the bestselling author of Thinner comes the harrowing story of a magically gifted child in the grip of the darkest evil. Seth Garon, a young boy whose supernatural powers are just awakening, finds himself in a world where absolutely terrifying things are not locked in the imagination but are free to come true.


Rated R (Violence, Gore, and some Sex) : 466 Pages

The Good:

  • This book was a great example of a claustrophobic story done well. Everything takes place on one suburban street, but really in a couple houses. It was super cramped.
  • A monster story? Yes! I love monster stories when they’re done well. They’re my favorite horror stories.
  • It had a pretty unique concept. Of course I’m not gonna spoil it for you. But it is like nothing I’ve ever read before.
  • The monster had a cool backstory. Learning about his was my favorite part of the whole book.

The Bad :

  • I didn’t find this book super interesting. I never felt like I couldn’t put this book down, in fact I wanted to put it down more often than not.
  • There were WAY too many characters. This is a common issue in king’s work but I don’t think it has ever bothered me as, in his books, before now.
  • I was never scared or nervous for the characters. They were dying left and right, but I was never really affected by it.

 

  •  Characters – 3/5    (Too many of them)
  • Plot                – 3/5   (Not super interesting)
  • Writing         – 4/5   (Very descriptive. Felt like I was there)
  • Uniqueness -3.5/5 ( Different than usual possession/monster story.)

Overall I rate this 3.4 Dream Floaters out of 5

 

Have you read this book? What did you think about it? I’d love to know!

Add me on Goodreads!

 

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

One thought on “20. The Regulators – Richard Bachman (Stephen King) REVIEW

  1. The Cover of this book and the synopsis sounds like it could be a children’s book instead of a R rated King book haha! I just found that really funny 🙂
    It’s a shame you didn’t like this one, I love King and he’s usually the only author that can actually creep me out so I think I’ll skip this one from him.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

