Posted in Movies, The Dark Towers Series, Thoughts on...

I am WORRIED about The Dark Tower movie!!

If you haven’t heard, they are making a movie adaptation of the Dark Tower series by Stephen King, starring Idris Elba as Roland, Matthew McConaughey as the Man in Black, and Tom Taylor as Jake Chambers.

Generally movie adaptations of King’s books are not very good, and if they are good they aren’t faithful (see The Shining). Despite this, I have been really excited about this movie even though they have made some questionable casting choices, but I’ve looked into it some more and it isn’t looking good, y’all.

Here is the synopsis for the movie:

Jake, who is still reeling over the death of his hero dad, a first responder on 9/11 who succumbed to toxic exposure, has a series of terrifying and apocalyptic visions that have made him doubt his own sanity. But when Jake narrowly avoids being abducted by terrifying creatures in human form, he escapes into another world. In this strange new reality, Jake teams with weary and disillusioned hero, Roland Deschain, a knight-like warrior bent solely on avenging himself against his age-old nemesis.  — From Wikipedia

First problem, they MODERNIZED it, but that’s ok I’m flexible.

Second problem, they’ve changed Jake’s entire story, seriously it’s not just that it takes place in modern times, but everything is different.

Third, this is NOT how the first book in the series, at all. I’m not sure what their plan is for this movie but I’m not looking forward to it anymore.

One good thing I have found from my research are the pictures I have been able to find. McConaughey  looks amazing as the Man in Black and Jake is exactly as I’ve pictured. Even Elba as Roland is dressed right and looks the part. So hopefully I’m wrong to worry about the film because I desperately want it to turn out.

 

What are your thoughts on the Dark Tower movie? Have you read the Dark Tower series? I’d love to hear your feedback!


ADD ME ON Goodreads !

Check out my last post on my American Literature class here!

 

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

5 thoughts on “I am WORRIED about The Dark Tower movie!!

Leave a Reply

