Posted in Reviews

Holiday Baking Showcase

It’s Christmas time and that means holiday BAKING! I love to bake so much, but this year I really overwhelmed myself with sweets. I will be sharing the recipe I used, as well as the link to the website. So without further ado, here is all that I made this year.

Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies –

Now I am kind of taking credit for these, although I know that they are around everywhere. I say this because I added to a recipe that I found.

Recipe – Found on crisco.com

  • 3/4 cup Crisco® Baking Sticks All-Vegetable Shortening
  • 1 1/4 cups firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tablespoon mint extract
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups Pillsbury BEST™ All Purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 (6 oz.) package semi-sweet chocolate chips (1 cup)
  • Green food coloring

To make these my own, I only used 1/2 a tablespoon of vanilla instead a full tablespoon. I replaced that 1/2 of a tablespoon with mint extract so my cookies were kind of a spearmint flavor. I also added 1/4 a teaspoon of baking power so my cookies would rise a little more than a typical chocolate chip cookies. Obviously, I added the green food coloring as well. Very grinchy!

Christmas Tree Sugar Cookie –

I make these cookies EVERY year! They are amazing! The cookies themselves are not very sweet, more like tea cakes, but I also make the icing which is VERY sweet!

Cookie Recipe – Found on allrecipes.com

In this recipe I tend to add a little more flour so they are nice and fluffy, but all in all I follow the recipe pretty closely.

Icing Recipe – Found on allrecipes.com

The icing is super simple, just put it in the bowl and stir it together. It is pretty fickle though, sometimes it just doesn’t thicken like you need it too, but to be honest I don’t have an answer for that. Sorry!

Polar Bear Pecan Cookies

I saw these on the Food Network and HAD to try them! I didn’t like the recipe Food Network recipe so I looked up a simple brown sugar cookie recipe instead.

Recipe – Found on epicurious.com

  • 1 1/2 sticks (6 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cups dark brown sugar
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • powdered sugar
  • pecans

I messed with this recipe a lot, and this is definitely the best option. I did add a little flour to this for the shaping. To make the little bears eyes you use a tooth pick before you bake them. To make it look like the bears are holding the pecans (or any other nut) you simply put it on their little tummy and fold their arms over it before baking. I also added pwdered sugar to the cookies and while it didn’t look as cute as I would have hoped it adds a little more flavor.


That is all the baking that I will be sharing right now. I actually made two more items, a cheese “cup”cake with cherries on top  and lemon bars, but I haven’t been able to finish prepping them yet.

If you would like to see the recipes for those tell me and I will definitely do a follow up post for you!

Do also do a lot of holiday baking? What are some of your holiday traditions? I would love to know!


 

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my reaction to The Monster Calls trailer HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

Leave a Reply

