Posted in Books, Reviews

Shopaholic Takes Manhattan (Shopaholic #2) – Sophie Kinsella || REVIEW

The first Shopaholic book ended up being a HUGE (see my review HERE )guilty pleasure of mine, so I decided I must continue the series. Did I like it as much as the first? Let’s find out!

9418

With her shopping excesses (somewhat) in check and her career as a TV financial guru thriving, Becky’s biggest problem seems to be tearing her entrepreneur boyfriend, Luke, away from work for a romantic country weekend. And worse, figuring out how to pack light. But packing takes on a whole new meaning when Luke announces he’s moving to New York for business…


 

Rated PG -13 (Some language and sexual innuendos) , 387 pages

The Good:

  • Of course, I loved the fashion elements of the book. I almost live vicariously through her and her designer clothes.
  • The humor is still very present as well. The way Becky sees the world is interesting and  hilarious.
  • There are still letters inter spliced throughout the story.
  • I also like the way the point of view is written, because it is technically a standard first person, but Becky thinks like it is a journal.
  • The end surprised me. I thought it was going one way but it went another and I was glad they didn’t go the route I expected.

The Bad :

  • Becky gets into some embarrassing situations, much like in the first and I get a lot of second hand embarrassment. Sometimes I got so uncomfortable, I had to actually put it down.
  • Becky really bothers me. She never learns from her mistakes and I get so mad when she does the same thing over and over again.
  • THE LIAR REVELED PLOT LINE! UGH!
  • Any character that isn’t supposed to be Becky’s ally are just plain mean. There are no characters who are neutral, either good or bad.

  • Story  – 3/5 (Pretty basic)
  • Characters – 3/5 (Main character is annoying, other characters are one dimensional)
  • Writing – 3.5/5 (Funny! Letter format is still fun.)
  • Uniqueness – 3/5 (Again, pretty basic)

Overall I give this 3.1 Versace Dresses out of 5


 

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my review of Wolves of Calla – Stephen King HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

Leave a Reply

