Posted in Books, Reviews, Wrap Ups/TBR

My Top 5 Favorite Books of 2016 and the 1 Worst!

Before this post please go take my short and easy survey over your experience with my blog in 2016!!! It will help me make this a better blog for me and for you!

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSeTJjyNptHbU05iDrc0L9QZuiU9eAKbsBa0xQjmPkPit1Vgdg/viewform?usp=fb_send_twt


So I have officially finished my Goodreads reading challenge of 25 books (YAY) and now I feel it is time to say what my favorites and least favorite were. I am only doing my 5 favorites because I don’t feel I read enough to talk about 10 favorites and I definitely don’t feel like I have read enough to pick 5 books I didn’t like, but there is one (one and a half?) book(s) that I hated enough to just shove it into this post! Also, my rating don’t really matter to this list because it is just which books I had the most fun reading this year. So without further ado, my 5 favorites (in no particular order) and 1 least favorite book of 2016! ((Links to blog posts in the titles)


 

161493

 Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams

Rating – 3.5/5

I rated this rather low, but it made me laugh so hard throughout the entire thing, and now that I look at my review, I think I should have rated it a little higher. Regardless I had the best time reading this and I think anyone would enjoy reading it!

 

6514

The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath

Rating – 4.25/5

It’s no secret that I love works about mental illness and this was no exception. The Bell Jar really touched me on a deeper level. I couldn’t put it down, and read it in a day. If you like books like The Catcher in the Rye, this is definitely for you!

 

 

16304

Murder on the Orient Express – Agatha Christie

Rating – 5/5

I picked up Christie for the first time EVER this year and have loved all three of her books I read this year. I gave Murder on the Orient the SLIGHT edge over Endless Night (see the review HERE) because I was more entertained throughout the entire book. No offense Endless Night. You were so close.

 

 

Watership Down – Richard Adams

Rating – 9.5/10 ( I had a different rating system then)

This was the surprise of the year for sure. I had the book on my Amazon wishlist forever, when my sister picked up for me. She said she loved it and I was like a book about rabbits? Please. Then I read it and LOVED it! Don’t judge a book by it’s cover y’all!

 

 

8621462

 A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

Rating – 10/10 (again, different system)

Are you even surprised this is on my list? I cried in this book harder than I have ever have from reading before, and thinking about it still makes me sad. I was so impacted by this, and I say ANYONE should read it!

Also see my trailer reaction for the A Monster Calls movie HERE

 


My least favorite book of the year was:

download (2)

Funhouse – Dean Koontz 

This was my first EVER review on my blog, and I specifically made this blog so I could rant about it. I hated it so much because it had SO MUCH potential. I also tried to pick up another Koontz novel this year, Twilight Eyes, and couldn’t even get through it. In fact, it was my only DNF of the year. So maybe Koontz just isn’t for me.

 

 


That is all! What is your favorite and least read of your year? I would love to know! Thanks for an amazing year! And lets hope for an even better year for 2017!

 

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my review of Endless Night – Agatha Christie HERE!

 

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

16 thoughts on “My Top 5 Favorite Books of 2016 and the 1 Worst!

  1. Okay, I love that you made your blog so you could rant about a book you didn’t like 😂 That’s amazing.

    I loved A Monster Calls so much. I’m reading The Bell Jar at the moment! It’s a slow ongoing thing because I’m connecting with it a lot and it’s hard to read at time, but Sylvia’s writing is beautiful. I also really want to read Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I tried to rant to my friends and they were like “I don’t know what you’re talking about.” So I made the blog 😹.
      I read The Bell Jar really quickly but I wish I would have taken more time on it because I can’t remember a lot of what happened. I guess I’ll just have to reread it (and I’m low key excited about it).
      Hitchhikers Guide is SO FUNNY! I literally laughed out loud so many times and I don’t usually do that while reading.

      Like

  2. Ahh another A Monster Calls fan. ❤ Also, I'm super happy you read and enjoyed Hitchhiker's Guide. I can't get enough of the humor, haha. If you haven't yet, I totally recommend continuing the series – they only get better. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well, sometimes we just can’t connect with a certain author, so…
    Can you believe I still haven’t read The bell jar? It’s been in my list since forever. And the same with A monster calls!
    Hope your reads in 2017 are great!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Murder on the Orient Express is one of my favorite Agatha Christie books. I never could get into The Bell Jar though, maybe I’ll try again next year. I made a top ten post with my favorites (didn’t mean to but after making the list found I had exactly ten). My least favorite book last year was probably Summer on the Short Bus – I only finished it so I could write a review for my blog. There were a few others I disliked as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

