Posted in Books, Reviews

My Life In Dog Years – Gary Paulson || REVIEW

Before this post please go take my short and easy survey over your experience with my blog in 2016!!! It will help me make this a better blog for me and for you!

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSeTJjyNptHbU05iDrc0L9QZuiU9eAKbsBa0xQjmPkPit1Vgdg/viewform?usp=fb_send_twt


This book has some history with me. It was actually the first nonfiction book I EVER read, in like second grade for a project. I remember really dreading it, when it was assigned, but once I picked it up I realized that I could love both fiction and nonfiction. So, did this live up to the memory I had? Let’s find out!

Image result for my life in dog years

Gary Paulsen has owned dozens of unforgettable and amazing dogs. In each chapter he tells of one special dog, among them Cookie, the sled dog who saved his life; Snowball, the puppy he owned as a boy in the Philippines; Ike, his mysterious hunting companion; Dirk, the grim protector; and his true friend Josh, a brilliant border collie.


Rated G (fun for all ages) : 137 pages

The Good:

  • Let’s just get this out of the way early. Gary Paulsen is an amazing writer, he makes you feel like you are there with him whether it be fiction or nonfiction. I had forgotten how much I loved him, but picking this up brought me straight back to reading this book and his other works like Hatchet and Dogsong.
  • It is a really innovative set up for an autobiography, as each chapter revolves around a different dog that Paulsen had, and what happened in his life with each dog. It’s so fun to hear about Paulsen’s life at the same time as hearing a heartwarming or funny (or both ) pet story.
  • Each chapter is titled with the dog’s name and includes an illustrated picture of what the dog looked like. It is a nice reference to look back to during the chapter, so you can have a proper mental image of what Paulsen is explaining.
  • Ok, maybe I have a soft spot for feel good pet stories. Seriously, anything about a pet I’m bound to love!
  • Paulsen seems to have had a really interesting life. He moved around a lot and didn’t seem to have a great relationship with his parents. I know it was probably a terrible time in his own life, but I enjoyed hearing about it (does that make me horrible?).

The Bad:

  • I wish it was longer, and I realize it was probably more geared to second grade Kyleigh, but I just wanted MORE. If you know of a more adult biography about Paulsen, please tell me.

 

  • Story – 4.5/5 (Paulen’s life was definitely interesting. I wish we heard more about it though.)
  • Characters – 4.5 (I’m counting the dogs characters, and they all have their own personalities and I would love to hear more about each more.)
  • Writing – 5/5 (Amazing!)
  • Uniqueness – 5/5 (I’ve never seen an (auto)biography set up this way. It is super fun and interesting)

Overall I give this 4.75 pigs named Pig out of 5!




Have you read this book? What is your favorite (auto)biography or memoir? I would love to know!

 

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my Top 5 (and 1 Worst) books of 2016 HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

One thought on “My Life In Dog Years – Gary Paulson || REVIEW

Leave a Reply

