Posted in Books, Reviews

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – J.K. Rowling REVIEW {Reread}

As stated in the title, this is a reread. This is my first reread of Harry Potter ever, I haven’t read it since I was in the fifth grade. That’s almost 10 years ago! I am rereading the books because I heard of Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality (Goodreads) , a rewrite of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone where Harry was raised around science and science fiction and how that affects his view of the wizarding world. I thought it sounded really interesting, so I’m looking forward to reading it and hopefully introducing everyone to an addition to a beloved series. So without further ado, did this book live up to my first read? Let’s find out!

Harry Potter’s life is miserable. His parents are dead and he’s stuck with his heartless relatives, who force him to live in a tiny closet under the stairs. But his fortune changes when he receives a letter that tells him the truth about himself: he’s a wizard. A mysterious visitor rescues him from his relatives and takes him to his new home, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry…

Rated – G (Family Friendly!)

Publication date – June 26, 1997

Length – 320 pages


The Good:

  • What a magical book! Seriously, from the first page I was transported to the world and wasn’t ever taken out of it due to faulty writing, or inconsistencies. That is actually saying a lot because I’m easily distracted by errors, and often DNF due to them.
  • Even though I see many copy cats around nowadays, I see them as just that and appreciate the uniqueness of Harry Potter for its time.
  • This was a surprisingly quick and easy read. The main reason I never reread the series is because I remembered spending months reading each book and honestly I wasn’t up for that. However, I did not account for the fact that I was ten when I read these, and now that I’m older I FLEW through it. I actually had to stop reading it so I could make it last until the new year. It was a nice break since I usually read adult literature that is a little most intense.
  • Of course the characters were amazing. Harry, Ron, and Hermione are going to go down in history as some of the most iconic book (and movie) characters ever. They act and talk like actual eleven year old children and I always praise a book for well written children.
  • Voldemort (sorry You-Know-Who) was way scarier than I remembered! More than once I was actually scared for Harry and Hogwarts, even though I knew how it ended.

The Bad:

  • I felt like the final climax wasn’t intense enough. There were other scenes that I found myself more on the edge of my seat for, and I personally don’t think that’s how a book should be formatted. I just wanted so much more.
  • I wish the villains were more three dimensional . I know that the majority of them are just being set up for subsequent books, but it really bothers me when I see characters being evil for the sake of being evil.

 

  • Story – 4/5 (Very fun, but the climax was disappointing)
  • Characters – 4/5 (Heroes? Great! Villains? Meh.)
  • Writing – 4/5 (No errors jumped out at me, but nothing ground breaking.)
  • Uniqueness – 4/5 (For it’s time.)

All in all I give this 4 Boys Who Lived out of 5

 

Have you read the Harry Potter series? How many times? I would love to know!

 

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my 2017 Blogging and Reading Goals HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

8 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – J.K. Rowling REVIEW {Reread}

Leave a Reply

