Posted in Books, Reviews

Gerald’s Game – Stephen King || REVIEW

With the news of a Gerald’s Game movie in the works (to be released on Netflix), I decided it was time I picked up the book. Did I love it as much as I loved King’s other works? Let’s find out!

32692

Stephen King cranks up the suspense in a different kind of bedtime story. A game of seduction between a husband and wife goes horribly awry when the husband dies. But the nightmare has just begun…

Rated – Hard R (Disturbing imagery, Sexual imagery, Gore, EXTREME TRIGGER WARNING – Sexual assault)

Publication Date – September 1, 1992

Length – 332 pages

 


 

The Good :

  • From the first page, I was hooked! It didn’t waste time getting to the good stuff which is often a pleasant surprise from King.
  • Speaking of hooked, the excitement never stopped! You wouldn’t expect that in a book where the story follows a woman who is handcuffed to a bed, but I was on the edge of my seat the entire time.
  • I love when King sets his book almost completely in reality. I think horror/thrillers are so much scarier when you could visualize yourself in the situation.
  • I really like the main character, Jessie. She saw the world in an interesting way, especially in terms of the relationship between men and women. I liked hearing the voice of a woman who was’t entirely crazy about men and marriage.
  • There is a REALLY creepy character who appears to Jessie. I honestly had trouble sleeping after reading about it.
  • Also did you know that there is such a thing as a jump scare in a book? I literally almost screamed once and it was a new experience.

The Bad :

  • This was an ultra disturbing read and that wasn’t a bad thing. The issue was that I was so disturbed that I could never see myself rereading this. The stress I went through gave me a gray hair, I’m pretty sure.
  • This was a pretty standard King book. It was no IT or Dark Tower series, but it was still a good read. I don’t know if it’s fair to compare this to his other works, but I’ve read too much of his stuff to keep from comparing.

All in all I really enjoyed this book and although I may not reread it, I still recommend it if you like horror/thrillers and especially if you enjoy King’s works like Misery.

 


 

Story – 4/5 (Surprisingly full of excitement.)

Characters – 5/5 (Each character was well rounded and the main was awesome.)

Writing – 4/5 (Not King’s best, but definitely not bad.)

Uniqueness – 4/5 (A pretty basic King book.)

All in all I give this 4.25 M-17 Handcuffs out of 5!

 

Have you read Gerald’s Game? Do you think the upcoming movie will be good? Whats your favorite Stephen King book? I would love to know!

 

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my review of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone reread HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

10 thoughts on “Gerald’s Game – Stephen King || REVIEW

Leave a Reply

