Posted in Books, Reviews

I Love My Computer Because My Friends Live In It – Jess Kimball Leslie || REVIEW

I saw this on Netgalley and I had to pick it up because I also love my computer because my friends live in it. Did I relate with this as much as I thought I might? Let’s find out!

31423303

I Love My Computer Because My Friends Live in It is tech analyst Jess Kimball Leslie’s hilarious, frank homage to the technology that contributed so significantly to the person she is today. From accounts of the lawless chat rooms of early AOL to the perpetual high school reunions that are modern-day Facebook and Instagram, her essays paint a clear picture: That all of us have a much more twisted, meaningful, emotional relationship with the online world than we realize or let on.

Coming of age in suburban Connecticut in the late ’80s and early ’90s, Jess looked to the nascent Internet to find the tribes she couldn’t find IRL: fellow Bette Midler fans; women who seemed impossibly sure of their sexuality; people who worked with computers every day as part of their actual jobs without being ridiculed as nerds. It’s in large part because of her embrace of an online life that Jess is where she is now, happily married, with a wife, son, and dog, and making a living of analyzing Internet trends and forecasting the future of tech. She bets most people would credit technology for many of their successes, too, if they could only shed the notion that it’s as a mind-numbing drug on which we’re all overdosing.

Rating – PG (Some mentions of drinking and sex)

Publication date – April 4, 2017

Length – 240 pages


 

The Good:

  • As someone who frequents many areas of the internet, this book was ultra relatable to me. Anyone who has grown up during the time that the internet was created and grown into what it is today would love this book. Every essay that Leslie wrote about was something that I experienced as well, and it made me remember my childhood and how the internet made me who I am today.
  • This read was truly hilarious. I was reading this while waiting for class and I literally laughed out loud more than one. Needless to say, the people sitting next to me thought I was crazy, but it was worth it.
  • I found the stories Leslie told really interesting. Since she is older than me, her experiences were similar but still a little different, so I actually learned a lot about the earlier ages of the internet.
  • Also, the writing was very well done. I am always a little leery when I go into memoirs and autobiographies, since their trade is not usually being an author. This time I honestly thought she may have been an author who I had never heard of before.

The Bad :

  • The only issue I had with this book was that I read it on my Kindle and there were pictures that I couldn’t see. That is not the fault of the book or the author though, so it shouldn’t count against the rating.

 

I LOVED this book. I have already preordered it for the hard copy. I recommend this to all of you, since I know that you all love the internet as much as I do.


Disclaimer: Since this is a nonfiction book I switched up some of the categories of the rating system. I added “Voice” (the personality of the author) in place of “Characters” and the “Appeal” (how interesting the book was) in place of “Story”.

  • Voice – 5/5 (She was so funny and authentic.)
  • Appeal – 5/5 (Easy essay was interesting, making for a wholly fun read.)
  • Writing – 5/5 (I thought she was an author by trade before googling her.)
  • Uniqueness – 5/5 (I’ve never read anything like that before.)

 

All in all I give this 5 Parents Who Make Their Kids Do Yoga out of 5!

 


What’s your earliest memory of the internet? I would love to know! 

 

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my 2016/2017 Tag HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

One thought on “I Love My Computer Because My Friends Live In It – Jess Kimball Leslie || REVIEW

Leave a Reply

