Posted in Books, Reviews

Bird Box – Josh Malerman || REVIEW

I heard a lot of amazing things about Bird Box last year and I KNEW I would like it. Needless to say it’s been on my shelf ever since. Well, I finally picked it up! Did it live up to the all the hype? Let’s find out!

24686535

Josh Malerman’s debut novel BIRD BOX is a terrifying psychological thriller that will haunt you long after reading. Most people dismissed the reports on the news. But they became too frequent; they became too real. And soon it was happening to people we knew. Then the Internet died. The televisions and radios went silent. The phones stopped ringing And we couldn’t look outside anymore.

Rated – R (Gore , Violence, and Scary Imagery)

Publication Date – January 29, 2015

Length – 473 pages


 

The Good:

  • I love a horror story that feels like it is set in our own reality. Like I love good supernatural horror, but the ones I like the best I can imagine myself in the situation. That being said, I don’t think I had to suspend my disbelief once while reading Bird Box. Everything felt like it was happening to me along with the characters.
  • I could not put this book down. If I hadn’t had things to do the day I read it, I would’ve gotten through in one sitting, but I did finish in little over 14 hours, which is not normal for me.
  • One thing I hate more than most is being blindfolded. It FREAKS me out. When the characters had to be blindfolded or shield their eyes, you are essentially blind too. I loved that because I don’t think I’ve ever read something where I couldn’t see what the characters couldn’t.
  • Speaking of the characters, there was not one character who I disliked due to a fundamental flaw in the way they were written. I only disliked them when I was SUPPOSED to.
  • Something about characters being pregnant in horror/thrillers adds another impending doom, to me.
  • The way this book was written was split into two sections, the present and a few years in the past. Usually, when I read things formatted like this, I pick a favorite section and just try to read through the other to get to my preferred. This was not the case while read Bird Box. I was equally interested and drawn into both time frames.

The Bad:

I had the hardest time finding anything “wrong” with this book and even had to put off writing the review so I could think of ANYTHING I disliked. In the end, I could only find one thing that I disliked a little more than the rest of the book, but it is by no means “bad”.

  • The ending of this was a little disappointing to me. Of course I’m not going to spoil anything, but if you’ve read it, I would like to know if you liked it as well.

 

This was an amazing read. I couldn’t believe I loved it as much as I did and would recommend it to anyone, even if you aren’t usually drawn to horror/thrillers.


 

  • Story – 5/5 (A roller coaster from start to finish)
  • Characters –  5/5 (All were interesting and fleshed out well, despite there being many of them.)
  • Writing –  5/5 (Above average.)
  • Uniqueness –  5/5 (I have never read anything like this before.)

 

All in all I give the 5 Covered Windows out of 5!!

 

Two five star books in a row! Can you believe it? Have you read this book? I would love to know! Thanks for reading!

 

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my review of I Love My Computer Because My Friends Live in it HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

Leave a Reply

