Posted in Editorials

Introduction to ShelfJoy.com

Hey guys! I’m working with the creators of ShelfJoy.com  for this blog post and I’m super excited about it! In my opinion, I feel like ShelfJoy could become a really good resource for readers and especially book bloggers.

Image result for shelfjoy

The best way I’ve thought to describe this site is a mixture of Goodreads, Twitter, and sites like BookRiot and ScreenRant.

It is a listing site, where you could browse lists like  “Memoirs by First Ladies”, “Books That Will Expand Your Mind”, or my personal favorite”All The Books Mentioned in Gilmore Girls”. I think it’s a great way to find books that could be in or out of your comfort zones. untitled

Any books that you spot on a list that you find interesting, you can add to your “reading lists”, much like on Goodreads. You can also buy these books on Amazon directly from the list, if you’re feelings particularly impulsive that day. (Don’t lie, we all have those days)untitled

Your reading list is pleasantly laid out and it also reminds you which lists you found these books on, which is nice, because you can always revisit your favorite lists!Untitled.png

On top of reading other’s lists, you can also create your own! Of course, I had to make my own and, of course, it was about Stephen King.

untitled

There is a database of books already in the website, so all you have to do is type in the title into a search bar and it does the rest of the work for you. And I mean ALL the work! By far my favorite thing about the creating tool is that you don’t even have to do the work to write (or copy-paste) the synopsis, they do it for you.  Another feature is that you can show your reaction to the book with a simple emoticon and others can react, as well.

Untitled.png

I’m not going to tell you that there is no bad along with this site. One issue I had was that there is no “Draft” setting for your lists. While I was making my SK list, my window closed and I lost the whole thing. It was so frustrating that I had to do the whole thing again.

Another issue I had was that there is no mobile app, as of now, but that can definitely be changed ESPECIALLY if there is more traffic on the site.

All in all, I think the possibilities of this site are endless. I’m thinking about using the site instead of writing TBR posts, or wrap ups!

Are you interested? I would love to know! Thanks for reading!

 

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my New Years Resolution Tag HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

One thought on “Introduction to ShelfJoy.com

Leave a Reply

