Posted in Books, Reviews

Proof – Dick Francis // Book REVIEW

Before my review, I’d like to give you a quick blog update. From now on, I will be adding another category to my reviews. Therefore, I will be commenting on The Good, The Meh, and The Bad of a book.

I am doing this because I felt like it was unfair that I was saying some things were inherently bad about the books I reviewed, when it was actually just average. Therefore, I will have the three categories, but won’t always have content for all three, especially the bad.

Hope you enjoy! 🙂


I read somewhere that Stephen King’s go to reads were Dick Francis mysteries, so of course I had to pick one up. Is it my new go to read? Let’s find out!

77068

Wine merchant Tony Beach has expertly catered his latest society soiree, but the fun’s over when a team of hit men crash the party…literally. The event leaves Tony with a bitter aftertaste of suspicion–and sets off a mystery that’s an intoxicating blend of deception, intrigue, and murder.

Rating – PG 13 (Some intense scenes)

Length – 334 Pages

Publication Date – March 25 1985


The Good:

  • My favorite thing about this book was that the author seemed really knowledgeable of horse racing, wine, and some other liquors. He incorporated this into the mystery and I felt like it really made the story stand out against the other mysteries I’ve read recently.
  • I enjoyed the main character. He was humble and a genuinely nice guy, who had a certain set of skills that made him qualified to solve this mystery.
  • In this book, the main character actually works with the police force. I’ve found that, in mysteries, the police force is often an enemy or hindrance to solving the crimes. It was nice to see a different perspective.
  • The action scenes were very suspenseful, due to the fact that the main character was just a normal guy. I could easily picture myself in his shoes.

The Meh:

  • Almost all of the side characters were disposable to me. I actually forgot almost all of them and had to look back into the book to remember their information, when they appeared.
  • I really didn’t feel like the stakes were too high. Like I wasn’t trying to figure out the mystery, in the least. In fact, I actually forgot what they were trying to solve at one point.

The Bad:

  • There was something that happened, in the beginning, that I really wanted to be tied into the mystery, but it was actually just a way to introduce us to a handful of characters. I was so disappointed when everything tied up and it wasn’t a part of the mystery. Seriously. It was just so disappointing.

  • STORY – 3/5 (It was an okay mystery. There were some twists and turns but the missing plot point really took it down a notch.)
  • CHARACTERS – 3.5/5 (All were interesting. I was never bored with them but I found myself forgetting who they were.)
  • WRITING – 4/5 (Very detailed. Felt like I was there.)
  • UNIQUENESS – 4/5 (The author’s knowledge of wine and horses really set this apart from other mysteries I’ve read.)

 ALL IN ALL I GIVE THIS 3.6 HORSES NAMED RAMEKIN OUT OF 5!


SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my review of Letting Go by Maria Thompson HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

Leave a Reply

