Posted in Books, Reviews

A Muddied Murder (A Greenhouse Mystery #1) – Wendy Tyson || REVIEW #MysteryThrillerWeek

I know in my last post I mentioned that I would be changing the format of my review, however #MysteryThrillerWeek reviews were written in advance so the new format will be seen again after February 22. 🙂
I was sent this book for review for the purposes of #MysteryThrillerWeek, but this did not affect my opinions and reviews. I love fun mysteries, and 2017 is the year of mysteries for me, apparently. Did this one live up to my expectations? Let’s find out!

28168648

When Megan Sawyer gives up her big-city law career to care for her grandmother and run the family’s organic farm and café, she expects to find peace and tranquility in her scenic hometown of Winsome, Pennsylvania. Instead, her goat goes missing, rain muddies her fields, the town denies her business permits, and her family’s Colonial-era farm sucks up the remains of her savings.

Just when she thinks she’s reached the bottom of the rain barrel, Megan and the town’s hunky veterinarian discover the local zoning commissioner’s battered body in her barn. Now Megan is thrust into the middle of a murder investigation—and she’s the chief suspect. Can Megan dig through small-town secrets, local politics, and old grievances in time to find a killer before that killer strikes again

Rating – PG-13 (Intense scenes, Some sexual innuendos)

Publication date – March 29, 2016

Length – 288 pages


 

The Good:

  • The setting was so fun. It was set in a small, rural town and the main character was starting up her own farm. Fun fact, I love farms especially farm animals (they’re so cute!!). I really enjoyed being transported into this quaint little place.
  • It is so important, in mysteries, to have an interesting cast of characters and I think every character was memorable. There were definitely stand outs like the main character, her grandmother, and some others (one of which I’ll talk about shortly). Often when I read mysteries I get really excited when the main character is speaking to particular people and then zone out during other conversations, but that never happened during this book.
  • Speaking of stand out characters, THE LOVE INTEREST!! It has been a long time since a character has made me swoon, but he was so charming! He had an ACCENT! He was a VETERINARIAN! I’m so glad this is a series because I cannot get enough of him!
  • By far the best thing about this book was the writing. Tyson really pinpointed human nature with her observations such as saying a character looked either 45 or 60 and we all know someone like that.

The Bad:

  • Earlier I mentioned that all the characters were interesting and I stand by that, but some tended to fade into the background. I wish that these characters had more time, but I understand that if you fleshed out every character fully, the book would be like 1,000 pages.
  • This was a pretty run of the mill mystery. I personally love a simple mystery but some might find this an issue.

 

  • STORY – 4/5 (Pretty standard, but fun mystery.)
  • CHARACTERS – 4/5 (All were interesting, but not all fleshed out.)
  • WRITING – 4.5/5 (Best part of the book! Real attention to detail.)
  • UNIQUENESS – 4/5 (Read some like this before, but the setting and characters set it apart.)

ALL IN ALL I GIVE THIS 4.2 CANNED VEGGIES OUT OF 5!


What’s your favorite mystery? I would love to know! Thanks for reading!

 

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my review of Proof – Dick Francis HERE!!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

Leave a Reply

