Posted in Books, Reviews

Backwoods Ripper – Anna Willett || REVIEW #MysteryThrillerWeek

I was sent this book for review for the purposes of #MysteryThrillerWeek, but this did not affect my opinions and reviews.

The synopsis of this book stated, “If you like Stephen King’s Misery, you’ll love this book.” so of course I HAD to pick it up. Was it true? Did I love it? Let’s Find out!

30406441

“If you like Stephen King’s Misery, you’ll love this book.”

A country drive quickly turns into a nightmare for newly-weds Paige and Hal Loche …

Rated: PG-13 (Some disturbing imagery)

Publication Date: June 5, 2016

Length: 185 pages


The Good:

  • I thought this story was going in one direction, in the beginning, but it did a 180. Sometimes it’s disappointing when you expect a story to go one way and it changes, but I’m glad for the direction it went in.
  • The setting for this book was a hospital that hadn’t been accepting patients for awhile. It was decidedly not abandoned, but close enough to be CREEPY. I don’t know why, but any sort of medical facilities have always felt creepy to me, whether in movies, TV, video games, or books.
  • The two protagonists, Paige and Hal, are pregnant and incapacitated respectively, which adds an interesting twist to the story that I haven’t read in a thriller before. Pregnancy also adds a weakness to Paige that doesn’t stem from her personality which I always love to see. A cowardly main character is the WORST in a thriller.
  • There are two women who Paige and Hal meet along the way who are pretty creepy. For awhile you never know what their motives are and they made me really uncomfortable.
  • The setting was marshy and gross and it was creepier than being snowed in, like in other stories. Like you don’t now what lies beyond the water. Crocodiles, snakes, bugs, and fish? YUCK!

The Bad:

  • I mentioned the synopsis at the beginning of the review, comparing this book to Misery by Stephen King, and I think that was a HUGE mistake. Not only was I constantly comparing this to Misery (a superior book), but I also couldn’t look past the many similarities.
  • The main villain is almost identical to Annie Wilkes, with a couple of minor differences and a mildly different motive. That was the most distracting part of this entire book. Every time she talked, I just imagined Annie Wilkes and I wish that there had been some more differences between them.
  • All the characters felt pretty one dimensional, minus one who had a mental illness. I was disappointed because I felt like there was really good opportunity to flesh out all the characters.

This was a fun and exciting read and I had a good time with it. Even though I found some big issues with this book, I would still recommend it to those who love thrillers.


Story – 3/5 (It’s been done before.)

Characters – 3/5 (Most were one dimensional.)

Writing – 3/5 (Pretty average, nothing great and nothing terrible.)

Uniqueness – 3/5 (It’s been done before, but there were some changes that made it interesting still.)

All in all I give this 3 Flat Tires out of 5!

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my #MysteryThrillerWeek review of A Muddied Murder – Wendy Tyson HERE!!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

Leave a Reply

