Posted in Reviews

Shopaholic Ties The Knot (Shopaholic #3) – Sophie Kinsella || Book REVIEW

When I’m feeling like a reading slump is coming my way, nothing helps me more than picking up one of the Shopaholic books! Did this book save my reading? Let’s find out!

17202875

There’s never been a better excuse to buy a new dress…or two.

Shopaholic Ties the Knot

The irresistible heroine of Confessions of a Shopaholic and Shopaholic Takes Manhattan is back!–in a hilarious tale of mothers and daughters, mothers and sons, and one blushing bride who just can’t say no to saying “I do.”

Rated – PG13 (Some language and sexual innuendos)

Publication date – March 4, 2003

Length – 328 pages


The Good –

  • I think the story, in this one, was much better than the first two. Since I read the first one, the main thing keeping me coming back was the humor, but I actually believe that this book’s story actually kept me coming back and I think Kinsella really found her footage, during this book.
  • A big issue I’ve had with these, in the past, was the lack of character growth. I feel like, by the end of the book, most of these issues were resolved. Of course, I don’t know if this is actually fixed, since I haven’t started reading the next in the series, but it seems like there is definitely a step in the right direction.
  • The things that I’ve found great, in the past books, are still great! Becky’s hilarious point of view, is still present and is definitely still hilarious. The letters between banks and such are also still present and we actually read about Becky’s relationship with her new banker (I miss Derek Smeath).
  • I usually get a ton of second hand embarrassment from this series, but I felt like this book was a lot more sparing to me and my feelings.

The Meh –

  • Although I said that I thought the character development is getting better, there was a point in this book that I kind of *lost it*. I actually went on a little rant on twitter at about 50% of the book about the characters. I just got so tired of seeing Becky and Luke do the same exact things over and over again.

The Bad –

  • I actually have a little bit of a problem with the relationship between Luke and Becky. Like, I don’t think it is unhealthy, but Becky and Luke never seem to talk to each other about really big issues that happen in their lives. I just could never live like that.

  • STORY – 4/5 (I loved this one! It was a more fun and unique spin on the classic wedding planning story.)
  • CHARACTERS – 4/5 (All my issues seem to be solved, minus the communication issues.)
  • WRITING – 4/5 (So funny! Loved the letter in this one even more!)
  • UNIQUENESS – 3.5/5 (Pretty standard chick lit, but that’s what we need sometimes!)

ALL IN ALL I GIVE THIS 3.9 SLEEPING BEAUTY WEDDINGS OUT OF 5!

 

Have you read the Shopaholic series? What did you think about it! I’d love to know!

Thanks for reading!

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter    Youtube

Check out my last post on Eating Disorder Awareness Week HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

4 thoughts on “Shopaholic Ties The Knot (Shopaholic #3) – Sophie Kinsella || Book REVIEW

Leave a Reply

