Posted in Movies, Reviews, Thoughts on...

IT Teaser Trailer Reaction

So, as most of you know, IT – Stephen King is my all time favorite book. I also don’t really mind the original movie, so I really have high hopes for this movie. Needless to say, I was CRAZY excited when this teaser dropped, but I wasn’t as blown away as I hoped I would be.

So why don’t I love it? Let’s go through it step by step.

The trailer opens with the iconic scene of Georgie chasing his boat down the street, when it falls into the sewer. Here is where we see the first problem. When Penneywise arises from the sewers, there is loud, ominous music played behind it. I will get to why this is wrong later.

Next we see some set up shots, of Derry ,Ben in the library, and all of the gang in the sewers. They mention how they have all seen the clown and then we see the large dilapidated house. All of these scenes are fine, and I actually really enjoy the look of all the young actors and actress, in their roles.

The following scene, shows the kids looking at a projector, when it suddenly begins to change itself, revealing Penneywise in the picture. I can only assume this is like the photo album scene in the original movie and book, and honestly I don’t mind that they changed it up. I think it’s just as spooky, if not more.

Some rapidly edited shots show Eddie (I think) running, Henry Bowers (I THINK) coming across the iconic balloon (and Penneywise???), the Losers cornered by Penneywise (perhaps turning into Teen Wolf??), what appears to be Mike seeing people burning alive (which is mentioned in the book as well), Bev seeing the blood shoot from the drain (also from the book and movie), and a closer look at Penneywise.

Then the final scene, is the worst part of the entire trailer. We see Georgie talking to Bill in the sewers, saying “You’ll float too” I do believe this is in the book, but what Penneywise does next is so out of character, in my opinion. We see him charge at Bill.

Now here is where I explain the biggest issue I had with this trailer, it’s not IT. Penneywise is only one of IT’s many forms. IT is actually is a projection of what the kids most fear and Penneywise is a more charming form to lure the children in. So my issue is, why is he so dang scary.

In the first scene, Georgie should have felt comfortable enough with the clown to reach in and grab his boat from him. Would you grab a boat from this? Image result for it trailer 2017 sewers

 

I know I’m nitpicking, but it is my right as a fan. I think the biggest issue is actually the trailers music though. If, when Penneywise arose from the sewers there wasn’t a huge BOOM, would he be as scary? Nah. So hopefully, in the next trailer we see it without the unnecessary noises.

The final scene RUBBED ME THE WRONG WAY. One, it wasn’t scary. Two, it wasn’t necessary. Three, that’s not how Penneywise ACTS. But oh well…I guess we will just have to see that in the context of the movie.

There is a lot of attention to detail though, I saw a video showing the two movies back to back and it gave me some hope on top of little easter eggs like a missing poster for Patrick Hocskstetter, a villain from the book among other things. See side by side trailers HERE!

I am cautiously optimistic about this movie and I hope the movie is better than this trailer.

What did you think of this trailer? I’d love to know!

Thanks for reading!

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my review of Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

6 thoughts on “IT Teaser Trailer Reaction

  1. IT is also one of my favorite books. Some things are just unforgettable, especially when you read it as a frail young teenager (I think o was 14-15). I also think the old movie was creepy in a way only low budget movies can be, and it was also really good. Didn’t know a new movie was coming out!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Actually, I didn’t watch 😀 #chickenproblems 😀 I am actually afraid of clowns! And I’m not sure I was before I read IT. Although reading a book is somehow more okay than watching, not sure why.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. IT is definitely my favourite King novel as well! And I completely agree with everything that you have written. I also don’t mind that they changed the photo album scene to the projector – I have a feeling that would be scarier when you watch it on screen. And I agree with Penneywise not being in character. I hope they portrayed him like this only in the trailer (with the BOOM music and everything else) just to get your attention and set the mood. Hopefully the movie will be better in that aspect!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

