Posted in Books, Reviews

The Color Purple – Alice Walker | Book REVIEW

I’ve decided to start reading, at least, one classic a month. While I know that the definition of “classics” are kind of fluid, but I’m really going along with my own definition of it. So, basically, if you don’t agree with me classifying some books as classics…sorry…they’re still going to go on the list.

So, as the first book in my classics series, I picked up The Color Purple. Did it make me want to continue reading classics? Let’s find out!

827792

Celie is a poor black woman whose letters tell the story of 20 years of her life, beginning at age 14 when she is being abused and raped by her father and attempting to protect her sister from the same fate, and continuing over the course of her marriage to “Mister,” a brutal man who terrorizes her. Celie eventually learns that her abusive husband has been keeping her sister’s letters from her and the rage she feels, combined with an example of love and independence provided by her close friend Shug, pushes her finally toward an awakening of her creative and loving self

Rating – R (Sexual assault, language, intense violence)

Publication date – 1986

Length – 288 pages


The Good:

  • One of the most eye opening books I’ve ever read. I knew I would learn new things about the plight of African Americans, in this time period, but I didn’t know it would give me this new perspective.
  • I was transported into Celie’s world, due to the format. It was written in letter format, but they were actually prayers. It made everything seem more realistic than if it were traditionally written.
  • The whole book felt so personal. This is not only due to the format, but also the voice of our main character Celie. She was so real, but also a genuinely good person.
  • All of the characters were amazing and real. Most of them were terrible people, but even then, you cared for them. I felt like I knew these characters and that I was having these conversations with them. I am not usually sucked into books like that, so it is showing the greatness of this book.

The Meh & Bad:

I literally can’t think of anything for these at all. This book was awesome.


  • STORY – 5/5 (An ultra realistic tale about an African American woman, in this time.)
  • CHARACTERS – 5/5 (The BEST part of this book! They were all likable and realistic.)
  • WRITING – 5/5 (The format was genius and made it feel like you were going through what Celie went through.)
  • UNIQUENESS – 5/5 (I can honestly say I’ve NEVER read anything like this. It was eye opening, heartbreaking, and entertaining.)

ALL IN ALL I GIVE THIS BOOK 5 HIDDEN LETTERS OUT OF 5!

 

Have you read this? What did you think about it? What other classics should I read? I’d love to know!

Thanks for reading!

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my Music This Month : March HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

Leave a Reply

