Posted in Books, Reviews, The Dark Towers Series

Song of Susannah (Dark Tower #6) – Stephen King | Book REVIEW

I’ve been reading the Dark Tower series for over a year now, and have found myself at the second to last book. I can’t believe the series is almost over for me! So did this book continue my love for the series? Let’s find out!

493809

…Saving the Tower depends not only on rescuing Susannah but also on securing the vacant lot Calvin Tower owns before he loses it to the Sombra Corporation. Enlisting the aid of Manni senders, the remaining katet climbs to the Doorway Cave…and discovers that magic has its own mind. It falls to the boy, the billy-bumbler, and the fallen priest to find Susannah-Mia, who, in a struggle to cope — with each other and with an alien environment — “go todash” to Castle Discordia on the border of End-World. In that forsaken place, Mia reveals her origins, her purpose, and her fierce desire to mother whatever creature the two of them have carried to term…

Rating – PG13 (Some intense scenes and language)

Publication date – April 5, 2005

Length  – 432 pages


The Good:

  • This book is SO meta. Like it gets to a point and you’re like, “It couldn’t possibly get anymore meta” but it DOES! This could have easily been overkill, but I thought it was perfectly done!
  • All of our favorite characters are back! As I continue reading the series, I fall more in love with them and I can’t believe I’m almost through with them.
  • Of course I’m a huge fan of the writing. Like duh, its STEPHEN KING! Everything in the series is really tying together now and I think its piecing together perfectly.

The Meh:

  • There are a couple characters, in this book, who don’t actually show up until page like 200 of 432. It felt really weird and messy, since the books have never been this way before. It actually got to the point where I forgot about these characters and didn’t want to know what was going on with them.

The Bad:

  • This book really couldn’t stand alone without the series to fall back on. As I try to rate books critically, I can’t just ignore this fact because I enjoy the series.
  • This kind of goes along with the fact that this book doesn’t stand alone, but when I finished the book I realized that almost nothing happened. This book was ENTIRELY filler to get us from the end of Wolves of Calla (see my review of that here) to the final book, The Dark Tower. I really feel like this was a pretty sloppy decision.

  • STORY – 2.5/5 (I enjoyed reading this but it was definitely a book solely to connect to the final book instead of be fulfilling on its own)
  • CHARACTERS – 4.5/5 (of course they were great! All our favs are back at it again!)
  • WRITING – 4/5 (the way everything is tying together not just within the series but with SKs other books and even pop culture is amazing.)
  • UNIQUENESS –  5/5 (I don’t want to spoil it but on top of the numerous tie ins there is a cameo that made my jaw drop and I bet has never happened in a book ever before)

ALL IN ALL, I GIVE THIS 4 SKöLDPADDA OUT OF 5!

I can’t wait to finish this series! It’s been a long time coming!! Thanks for reading!

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my review of Exorcist Falls – Johnathan Janz HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

2 thoughts on “Song of Susannah (Dark Tower #6) – Stephen King | Book REVIEW

Leave a Reply

