Posted in Books, Gore n' More, Reviews

Becoming – Glenn Rolfe | RANT REVIEW

The Gore n’ More book club has been one of my favorite things I am a part of this year! I have found some awesome books and authors through the monthly horror reads they host (ex. Savages – Greg F. Gifune). At the same time, I have found some books that I WASN’T in love with (ex. Exorcist Falls – Jonathan Janz). When I saw that this month’s read was a monster story, I was SO excited. So what did I think about it? I HATED IT!

SPOILER WARNING – I COULDN’T REVIEW THIS WITHOUT SPOILING ANYTHING BUT YOU AREN’T MISSING ANYTHING!!!

Becoming

Something ancient has wormed its way up from the earth….
A change has come today.

After Michele Cote’s best friend disappears, no one believes her story about the thing responsible for his abduction. Forced to figure out the mystery for herself, Michele encounters terror she has never known, and witnesses the impossible.

When other members of the community begin to change or vanish, Sheriff Shane Davis must look beyond reason in order to stop the evil seeping into this small town. With help from an unlikely source, Sheriff Davis will come face-to-face with the truth.
You can’t destroy what you don’t understand. For the town of Avalon, Maine, the future is about change…for better or worse. – Goodreads

Rating – PG 13 (Gore, Some violence, Some language)

Published – March 3, 2017

Length – 265 pages


The Good –

  • The premise was good, but not executed well.

The Meh –

  • Again, the premise. It was basically just a rehash of Invasion of the Body Snatchers, except with monsters instead of aliens (that’s actually debatable). So I was obviously into the idea of it because it was based off a GOOD STORY.

The Bad –

  • Where do I even begin! Let’s start with the characters. There were just about a million characters who lived in a small Maine town. Sound familiar? Yeah, it’s definitely an homage to Stephen King’s works. So why does it work in King’s stories, but not this one. It’s simple, really. All of King’s characters are distinguishable, where Rolfe’s were not. I literally could only remember who 2 characters were throughout the ENTIRE book and then he killed one of them off, so then I only remembered one. There was a part where it was revealed that a character was gay, but I couldn’t remember who he was AT ALL! I couldn’t remember if he was married or had kids, and then he DIED SO I NEVER KNEW! It was just so frustrating…
  • Rolfe utilized a lot of modern technology and terms. I wouldn’t think that this would be a necessarily bad thing, but instead of making this book modern it almost instantly makes it dated, in it’s own time! There were times that it would say a character read a Stephen King novel (subtle) on her Kindle. Like why not just a physical book? They would mention that a character watched Veronica Mars on Amazon Prime and took a lot of inspiration from her. I don’t mind that she found a way to make herself brave, but why couldn’t she just watch it on TV instead of Amazon Prime? I don’t know exactly why this bothered me so much, but it really did.
  • Finally, the worst thing a book/movie can mess up, in my opinion. THE ENDING! If any of you have been around since my very first post, you’ll remember I actually created this blog because a book’s ending made me so mad that I HAD to talk about it!. Anyway. This book literally just ENDS. They literally see the monster, it eats ONE PERSON (after changing the entire town into her minions), and then it’s OVER! AGH! I HATE THAT! To be fair, there was a novella at the end of the book that MAY have explained more, but the book SHOULD have been self contained. You can’t just expect all readers to read a novellas to get the most out of your book.

  • STORY – 2/5 (I was pretty invested in this story and was going to give it 3 stars but I HAD to dock a point because there was no satisfying ending. Literally they just saw the thing and the book ended..like excuse me? I’m peeved)
  • CHARACTERS – 2/5 (they were OK but I found myself unable to decipher one from another and it just became a hassle)
  • WRITING – 2/5 (it was kind of awkward. Like I wanted to enjoy it and was so on board but the inclusion of modern day technology and slang actually made the story feel DATED not modern)
  • UNIQUENESS – 2/5 (basically just invasion of the body snatchers tbh)

ALL IN ALL I GIVE THIS 2 TENTACLE MONSTERS OUT OF 5!

Have you read this? What did you think about it? What is your biggest bookish pet peeve?

Thanks for reading!

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post discussing why Netgalley stresses me out HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

One thought on “Becoming – Glenn Rolfe | RANT REVIEW

Leave a Reply

