Posted in Books, Reviews

Night Film – Marisha Pessl || Book REVIEW

Shout out to my fellow horror/thriller lover, Regina @ BookishinBed, who I buddy read this book with!

This is one of the most highly praised modern books, right now. On top of that the tone was supposedly very dark and disturbing, which I love! So, did it live up to all the hype? Let’s find out!

10112885

Everybody has a Cordova story. Cult horror director Stanislas Cordova hasn’t been seen in public since 1977. To his fans he is an enigma. To journalist Scott McGrath he is the enemy. To Ashley he was a father.

On a damp October night the body of young, beautiful Ashley Cordova is found in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Her suicide appears to be the latest tragedy to hit a severely cursed dynasty.

For McGrath, another death connected to the legendary director seems more than a coincidence. Driven by revenge, curiosity and a need for the truth, he finds himself pulled into a hypnotic, disorientating world, where almost everyone seems afraid.

The last time McGrath got close to exposing Cordova, he lost his marriage and his career. This time he could lose his grip on reality.

ONCE WE FACE OUR DEEPEST FEARS, WHAT LIES ON THE OTHER SIDE? — Goodreads

Rating – PG 13 (Some disturbing scenes, some language)

Publication Date – 9 / 20 / 13

Length – 602 pages


The Good :

  • By far the best part of this book was the mystery. Like wow. There were times when I was SURE I had figured the mystery out, but NO! It was so masterfully done. I definitely haven’t read a mystery that good since the last Agatha Christie book I read.
  • One of my favorite things about this book was the fact that parts of the book were obviously fictionalized but they were written seamlessly into the real world. There was never a moment that it took me out of the story because it was unrealistic.
  • We have talked about how I love when mysteries are told from the perspective of anyone that aren’t cops. So our main character was a journalist…so needless to say I enjoyed that.
  • Awhile back I mentioned, in my review of Becoming – Glenn Rolfe, that the inclusion of modern day technology really bothered me. In this book, however, I think it was used very well to help further the story along.
  • Obviously mixed media was awesome, but everyone already knows about that part of this book. It really made me feel like a lot of extra work and love was put into the book.

The Meh :

  • The writing was amazing, but every once in a while it seemed to drag. I would find myself being bored for 5-10 pages out of every 100 or so. It really wasn’t a huge issue, but I wish I had been hooked from beginning to end.
  • This book was slightly over hyped for me and that was really a shame. It wasn’t that everyone said it was amazing and it wasn’t, it was actually that people were talking about how dark and intense this book was, and I didn’t really feel like it was. I think I am just desensitized to dark, horror filled novels but if you are picking it up solely because the tone, you may not be happy with it.

The Bad :

  • My only issue was the characters. The main character was awesome and I enjoyed his female companion, but the male companion really bothered me. Other than him, I enjoyed the characters, but none really stuck out expect for a few.

 


  • STORY – 5/5 (seriously masterful. I haven’t been so perplexed by a mystery since reading my last Agatha Christie novel)
  • CHARACTERS – 4.5/5 (the characters were really my only small gripe. Our main characters male friend who helps him in the journey seemed like an easy out to all their problems and he really got on my nerves. Other than him everyone was fine but only a couple characters really stood out to me)
  • WRITING – 4.75/5 (At some points I felt like the writing made the story drag just a little. I sometimes just found myself bored for a couple pages. )
  • UNIQUENESS – 5/5 (you already know about the mixed media…but yeah it was fantastic)

ALL IN ALL I GIVE THIS 4.8 CORDOVA FILMS OUT OF 5

 

Have you read this? Which Cordova film do you want to watch ( I want to see Thumbscrew ) ?

Thanks for reading!

SOCIAL MEDIA β€”

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my review of Flowers for Algernon – Daniel Keyes HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

11 thoughts on “Night Film – Marisha Pessl || Book REVIEW

  1. I loved this book! I’m not sure I want to watch any of Cordova’s films haha – I love reading horror but I am a wimp when watching it. I loved the mystery of this book and found it so addictive! Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

