Posted in Books, Reviews

Luckiest Girl Alive – Jessica Knoll || Book REVIEW

So I’d heard this book described as a mix between a thriller and Gossip Girl and I love both of those things, so I picked it up ASAP! Did I love it? Let’s find out!

22609317

HER PERFECT LIFE IS A PERFECT LIE.

As a teenager at the prestigious Bradley School, Ani FaNelli endured a shocking, public humiliation that left her desperate to reinvent herself. Now, with a glamorous job, expensive wardrobe, and handsome blue blood fiancé, she’s this close to living the perfect life she’s worked so hard to achieve.

But Ani has a secret.

There’s something else buried in her past that still haunts her, something private and painful that threatens to bubble to the surface and destroy everything.

With a singular voice and twists you won’t see coming, Luckiest Girl Alive explores the unbearable pressure that so many women feel to “have it all” and introduces a heroine whose sharp edges and cutthroat ambition have been protecting a scandalous truth, and a heart that’s bigger than it first appears.

The question remains: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for—or, will it at long last, set Ani free?  — Goodreads

Rating – R (Language, violence, EXTREME TRIGGER WARNING!!! Sexual assault, abuse, substance abuse, eating disorders, and mental illness)

Length – 352 pages

Publication Date – 5 / 12 / 15


The Good :

  • I found parts of this book super interesting, especially the part where we saw Ani’s adult life. Maybe it was the glitz and glamour, but I just loved that aspect. I also enjoy parts of her life in her new school, again because of the glamour of it all. I bet y’all can see what my guilty pleasure is.
  • This was obviously satirical, and I loved that about it! It’s not too often that I stumble across a satire, so it was a welcome change.
  • I felt like the characters were authentic in a way that honestly made me a little uncomfortable. It was impressive, really.
  • Honestly the ending was really satisfying and made me like the book better as a whole.

The Meh :

  • There was a very graphic abusive relationship, in this book, that included a rape in detail. While I understand why it was in the book, it really disturbed and distracted me when reading the rest of the book.
  • I could see the “plot twist”, at the end of the book, from a mile away. Pretty much from the first 100 pages I knew where the entire book was going.

The Bad :

  • The book is marketed as a thriller,  but I think that was the wrong move because  was literally never thrilled. I think it would have been a better move to market it as lit-fic or satire.

  • STORY – 3.5/5 (I expected it to be a better thriller but all the twists and turns were pretty predictable. It was a good precautionary tale for those who will do anything to fit in.)
  • CHARACTERS – 3.5/5 (they were all so unlikable in a way that was just WAY too authentic. Like I don’t know too many book that had more believable characters than this one, but still…so unlikable)
  • WRITING– 3/5 (it was ok. Nothing spectacular but not insulting)
  • UNIQUENESS – 3.5/5 (I haven’t read a book quite like this before but I have read many books about upperclass New Yorkers (even if this was supposed to be satire))
  • ENJOYMENT  – 4/5 (I found this book super interesting. I thought the present parts were a little more interesting than the past but it didn’t bother me much.)

ALL IN ALL I RATE THIS 3.5 SEASHELL FRAMES OUT OF 5!

Have you read this book? What did you think about it? I’d love to know!

Thanks for reading!

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my review of The Unexpected Everything – Morgan Matson HERE!

 

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

Leave a Reply

