Posted in Books, Reviews

A House at the Bottom of a Lake – Josh Malerman || Book REVIEW

I loved Bird Box and heard great things about this book. I also love quick and easy reads to I bought it ASAP! Did I love it as much as everyone else? Let’s find out!

32712167

Both seventeen. Both afraid. But both saying yes.

It sounded like the perfect first date: canoeing across a chain of lakes, sandwiches and beer in the cooler. But teenagers Amelia and James discover something below the water’s surface that changes their lives forever.

It’s got two stories.

It’s got a garden.

And the front door is open.

It’s a house at the bottom of a lake.

For the teens, there is only one rule: no questions. And yet, how could a place so spectacular come with no price tag? While the duo plays house beneath the waves, one reality remains:

Just because a house is empty, doesn’t mean nobody’s home. — Goodreads

Rating – PG13 (Some intense scenes, some language, some sexual scenes)

Length – 156 pages

Publication Date – 10 / 31 / 16


The Good :

  • I thought it was a good choice to only focus on two characters, for this short book. I’ll talk more about the characters later, but I thought it was a good call, not introducing a ton of characters.
  • At the beginning of the book, I thought I would have to dock even more points for the relationship and the way it was portrayed but it fixed itself, at the end. I really appreciated that it wasn’t 100% romanticized.
  • The cover is seriously gorgeous. I love it so much.

The Meh :

  • A lot of people saying that this book was really suspenseful for them and I understand that, but I never felt suspense. I felt uncomfortable, in a bad way. Like I wasn’t on edge I just wanted the parts when they were under water to be over.

The Bad :

  • I HATED both the characters. I seriously found them so unlikable and didn’t want to follow them on their adventure. I can’t really pinpoint what it was that rubbed me the wrong way, I just know I never want to know anything else that happens in their life ever.
  • I try to review books critically, but I honestly just hated the act of reading this book. Like it was only 156 pages but it took me 3 DAYS to read it! I just really disliked this book.
  • What was the ending? Seriously, what was it? It made no sense. There was nothing tying it together to the rest of the book. Like what? What? WHAT?

  • STORY – 3.5/5 (Just a simple story of love and heartbreak with a little bit of WHAT THE HECK IS GOING ON HERE mixed in)
  • CHARACTERS – 3/5 (I thought it was a good idea to only focus on two characters ((three if you count the house)) since the book was so short but I really didn’t care about them at all)
  • WRITING – 3/5 (OK)
  • UNIQUENESS – 4/5 (Obviously this book is about finding a house at the bottom of a lake…so yeah)
  • ENJOYMENT – 2.5/5 (I’m honestly so disappointed right now. I don’t know if it was overhyped for me or what. But if this book hadn’t been so short I might have even DNFd it. Honestly I’m so sad rn.)

ALL IN ALL I GIVE THIS 3.2 TEENAGE RELATIONSHIPS OUT OF 5!

I was so disappointed by this book.

Have you read it? What did you think about it? I’d love to know!

Thanks for reading!

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my review of Gwendy’s Button Box – Stephen King & Richard Chizmar HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

4 thoughts on “A House at the Bottom of a Lake – Josh Malerman || Book REVIEW

  1. Ahhh sorry you didn’t enjoy this one. I was not a fan of the characters either, honesty. The “romance” was pretty bad. I was one of those people that found it really suspenseful. It probably helped that one of my biggest fears is being underwater and the scene at the start were they went under with nothing to help them breathe gave me legitimate anxiety because I felt like I couldn’t breathe, haha. I can definitely see how it’s not for everyone though. Great reivew 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

