Posted in Books, Reviews

Truly Madly Guilty – Liane Moriarty || RANT REVIEW

I’ve heard great things about Liane Moriarty’s works. So, when I saw this book in my library, I picked it up immediately. So did I enjoy it? No.

26247008

Six responsible adults. Three cute kids. One small dog. It’s just a normal weekend. What could possibly go wrong?

Sam and Clementine have a wonderful, albeit, busy life: they have two little girls, Sam has just started a new dream job, and Clementine, a cellist, is busy preparing for the audition of a lifetime. If there’s anything they can count on, it’s each other.

Clementine and Erika are each other’s oldest friends. A single look between them can convey an entire conversation. But theirs is a complicated relationship, so when Erika mentions a last minute invitation to a barbecue with her neighbors, Tiffany and Vid, Clementine and Sam don’t hesitate. Having Tiffany and Vid’s larger than life personalities there will be a welcome respite.

Two months later, it won’t stop raining, and Clementine and Sam can’t stop asking themselves the question: What if we hadn’t gone?  — Goodreads

 Rating – PG13 (Some intense scenes, sexual situations, some language)

Length – 415 pages

Publication date – 7 / 26 / 16


The Good :

  • The writing was pretty good and really descriptive. Even if I didn’t enjoy anything, I felt like I was there.
  • There were mental illnesses portrayed that I’d never read about before, especially hoarding.

 

The Meh :

  • Again with the writing, I felt like everything was written to trick me. Like I know that thrillers are supposed to keep you guessing, but this was ridiculous.
  • This book was SO SLOW! It took AT LEAST 75% (could even be closer to 80%) of the book to just find out what happened at a normal barbecue. It was honestly frustrating.

The Bad :

  • Oh my GOD I hated EVERY. SINGLE. ONE. of the characters. ALL OF THEM! I have never read a book where every one of the characters actually repulsed me. I just kept thinking something might make me like them more, but that something never came.
  • If this weren’t a thriller, I would have definitely DNF’d. I thought, because it was a thriller,  it would have this crazy twist that would make everything worth it. Moriarty TRIED to pull this off, but that twist meant little to nothing to me.
  • Honestly I just hated reading this book. More than once I had to force myself to keep going. This book was just a complete waste of my time, and it’s one of the only books I’ve read that I wish I could take back.

  • STORY – 2/5 (It was SO slow and the twists weren’t even shocking the writing was just deceitful to make you think it was a good twist)
  • CHARACTERS – 2/5 (I seriously hated every single character in this entire book. EVERY ONE!)
  • WRITING – 2.5/5 (Like I said earlier the writing was just trying to trick you the entire time. There was no suspense or thrills. It was all very descriptive though.)
  • UNIQUENESS – 2.5/5 (Just like every other domestic thriller out there except for the fact that there were many mental illnesses portrayed that I haven’t read much about before.)
  • ENJOYMENT – 1/5 (I seriously hated the act of reading this book. The only reason I continued reading was because I thought the ending might make up for everything else but I was wrong. this was a complete waste of my time.)

ALL IN ALL, I GIVE THIS 2 CELLIST OUT OF 5!

Have you read this? What did you think about it? I’d love to know! Should I read more Liane Moriarty? I can’t decide.

Thanks for reading!

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my Quarterly Wrap Up HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

16 thoughts on “Truly Madly Guilty – Liane Moriarty || RANT REVIEW

    1. I think that’s a good idea. Like usually I encourage people to read the book even if I didn’t enjoy it but I haven’t read one good review of it! I’m still going to give Moriarty one more chance

      Like

  1. Great review! Definitely give Moriarty another chance, as Truly Madly Guilty isn’t as good as her other books. Big Little Lies is my favorite Moriarty book, and What Alice Forgot is also good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

