Posted in Books, Reviews

And The Trees Crept In – Dawn Kurtagich | Book REVIEW

I was able to buddy read this with Regina @ Bookish In Bed! She already has her review posted so go check it out too!

I heard of this book and it sounded just as creepy as I like. At the same time, I was kind of worried because the reviews were super mixed. So did I love it or hate it? Let’s find out!

28449150

Stay away from the woods…

When Silla and Nori arrive at their aunt’s home, it’s immediately clear that the manor is cursed. The endless creaking of the house at night and the eerie stillness of the woods surrounding them would be enough of a sign, but there are secrets too—questions that Silla can’t ignore: Why does it seem that, ever since they arrived, the trees have been creeping closer? Who is the beautiful boy who’s appeared from the woods? And who is the tall man with no eyes who Nori plays with in the basement at night… a man no one else can see? — Goodreads

Genre – Horror

Rating – PG 13 (Very disturbing scenes)

Length – 352 pages

Publication Date – 9 / 6 / 16


The Good :

  • This book was honestly so creepy to me. From the very first page, I felt uncomfortable (in a good way). Seriously, the suspense was REAL!
  • This book has a sort of multimedia format where there are different fonts and backgrounds utilized. This was another way to make the reader feel like they were going insane.
  • From the moment I opened this book, I was hooked. The confusion and uncertainty made it even more engrossing to me.
  • *Most* of the characters we very real and interesting to me. I feel like if I was in the same situation as Silla, I would have acted exactly the same (Except maybe less brave, to be honest).

The Meh :

  • I do feel like the book dragged a little in the middle. I still sped through, but I felt myself taken out of the story a little.
  • The twist was interesting but really nothing amazing. The ending was the embodiment of “meh”. Luckily, this didn’t make me enjoy the story any less.

The Bad:

  • The *only* thing that really bothered me was Aunt Cath. Not only did it bother me that she was only described as “crazy” and wasn’t given a legit mental illness assigned. Also she just felt pointless. Like she would disappear from the story for like 30 pages and then all of the sudden Silla would just be like “oh yeah Aunt Cath”. It was just frustrating to me.

  • STORY – 5/5 (It was creepy, suspenseful, and so well thought out. I feel like I can’t say anymore for fear of ruining it.)
  • CHARACTERS  – 4.5/5 (They felt so real in he scariest way. Like you could imagine someone being just like them if they were in a similar situation.)
  • WRITING  – 5/5 (It made me feel like I was actually going insane. There was mixed media and different fonts that made the book ((relatively)) easy to follow.)
  • UNIQUENESS – 5/5 (The writing and the nature of the story made this wholly unique)
  • ENJOYMENT – 5/5 (I LOVED reading this book. I was hooked from the first page and could barely put it down! I love it!)

ALL IN ALL I GIVE THIS 4.9 (omg so close I cant handle it) CREEPER MEN OUT OF 5!

 

Have you read this? What did you think of it? I’d love to know!

Thanks for reading!

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my RANT review of Truly Madly Guilty – Liane Moriarty HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

5 thoughts on “And The Trees Crept In – Dawn Kurtagich | Book REVIEW

Leave a Reply

