Posted in Books, Reviews

Rosemary’s Baby – Ira Levin || Book REVIEW

This has always been one of my favorite movies of all time and have had the book on my TBR for YEARS! Unfortunately, I was nervous because I was afraid the book wouldn’t hold up  and would ruin the experience of rewatching one of my favorite movies! So, did it disappoint? Let’s find out!

34499949

Rosemary Woodhouse and her struggling actor husband Guy move into the Bramford, an old New York City apartment building with an ominous reputation and mostly elderly residents. Neighbors Roman and Minnie Castavet soon come nosing around to welcome the Woodhouses to the building, and despite Rosemary’s reservations about their eccentricity and the weird noises that she keeps hearing, her husband takes a shine to them.

Shortly after Guy lands a plum Broadway role, Rosemary becomes pregnant—and the Castavets start taking a special interest in her welfare. As the sickened Rosemary becomes increasingly isolated, she begins to suspect that the Castavets’ circle is not what it seems… — Goodreads

Genre – Horror

Rating – PG13 (Extreme suspense, TRIGGER WARNING – SUICIDE AND SEXUAL ASSAULT)

Length – 282 pages

Publication Date – 1967


The Good:

  • This book was SO tense! I definitely think this is one of the few books that you should see the movie BEFORE reading. I felt like, since I knew the ending, even the smallest things set me on edge.
  • This book was definitely a snapshot of the time. It was written in the 60’s and you could really tell. Not only did the characters do things that people now would never, but she also would make mistakes that we know not to do (such as drink while pregnant). I really enjoyed being transported to this time period.
  • Rosemary felt SO real. Like if any of us were in a similar situation, I think we would act the same, if not worse. I loved her character and was always on her side.
  • The side characters were just as interesting and SO suspicious. You never knew who was being truthful and who had good intention.
  • The writing was amazing. From the first page, I was so engrossed. The writing never dragged and everything felt believable. I WILL be reading more Levin, in the future.

The Meh :

  • The only this I think was lacking was the ending. Like, I wanted to know more about the motive and how the villains actually acted out their plot. I know that there is a sequel, but I don’t want to read that and wished this book was more self contained.

The Bad:

  • NONE! This was an awesome read!

  • STORY – 5/5 (This book is ALL about trust and paranoia. Not only was the situation creepy but the act of a character being pregnant made it 100x worse.)
  • CHARACTERS – 5/5 (Rosemary was SO rea
  • l. I feel like any woman who was pregnant with her first child would act very similarly to her. The rest of the characters were less in the spotlight but still interesting and real.)
  • WRITING – 5/5 (I was INSTANTLY sucked into the story and it never dragged for me.)
  • UNIQUENESS – 5/5 (Other than the movie, I haven’t ever read or seen anything like this before.)
  • ENJOYMENT – 5/5 (I seriously did not expect to love this book as much as I did. I do say, I think you should read the book AFTER seeing the movie because I saw the movie first and I was so on edge the entire time.)

ALL IN ALL, I GIVE THIS 5 TANNIS ROOTS OUT OF 5!

 

This is seriously one of my new favorite books! I’m so glad I read it!

Have you read it? What did you think about it? I’d love to know!

Thanks for reading!

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my review of And The Trees Crept In – Dawn Kurtagich HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

One thought on “Rosemary’s Baby – Ira Levin || Book REVIEW

Leave a Reply

