Posted in Thoughts on...

Why I’m NOT Seeing The Dark Tower Movie!!!

Hey guys, today’s post will be different from what I usually post, but I feel it’s necessary.

As many of you know, I’m a HUGE fan of Stephen King and also a fan of the Dark Tower series. Although I still have one book left to read, I think it’s a true masterpiece and any Stephen King fan NEEDS to read it.

Image result for Stephen King

Before I heard they were adapting the Dark tower series, I had little to no interest in reading it. This is because I heard it was a Western/Fantasy hybrid  and neither of those genres really get me excited to read.

So the news of  a movie coming out was just the push I needed. I tried to get through all the books, in time for the movie (obviously that didn’t work out) while also reading other books, so my blog wouldn’t just be filled with Dark Tower reviews.

I fell IN LOVE with the books, and saw the movie potential immediately, but then I saw it all falling apart.

Almost a year ago, I wrote a post called I’m WORRIED about the Dark Tower movie (see here) Basically, I mentioned that it didn’t seem that the movie was following the book very faithfully. And BOY was I correct.

From the reviews I’ve seen and read, it really just seems like the studios wanted to make a “modern cowboy” movie, but knew if they didn’t have source material to base it off of, it would fail.  So what did they do? Plop our good friend Stephen’s name on the poster to get the hype.

The review that cemented the fact that I would not be seeing this movie was GoodBadFlick’s (click the link to his review. Seriously he’s a great reviewer.). He said, that it felt like a “young adult novel adapted to film”.

Now of course this isn’t always a bad thing, but what makes me so mad is that these books are so CLEARLY ADULT. So if it feels like a  young adult movie, then the concepts and feeling was completely lost.

Also, it is said the this is a melding of the first and last book in the series. A 90 minute movie trying to fit one of these books would have been a struggle but two? That’s too much. Not to mention, the introduction and conclusion.

So, due to all these reasons, I believe that this movie is a shameless cash grab off of Stephen King’s name. I want to support Stephen King, but I refuse to support the studios who think it is ok to butcher our favorite books and series.

So I will NOT be spending my money on this movie and I suggest if you want studios to get the hint, top do the same.

What do you think about this movie or book adaptations in general?

Thanks for reading!

SOCIAL MEDIA —

Goodreads    Twitter

Check out my last post on my Disappointing July Wrap Up HERE!

Author:

Just a college student with an unnatural love for books and too many thoughts to keep to herself.

11 thoughts on “Why I’m NOT Seeing The Dark Tower Movie!!!

  1. I too was excited about the Dark Tower, but after hearing some people’s reviews have decided to give it a miss. And it’s really too bad. I don’t believe that film adaptations are bad. Sometimes, though not often, I even believe that the film adaptation is BETTER than the book was *gasp!* In fact, here’s a list of some examples of great books that I think made even better movies:

    Jurassic Park
    The Lord of the Rings
    The Hobbit
    Eragon (Just kidding. That movie was the worst.)
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Sort of. See below.)

    It’s not a long list, but it’s one that I feel fairly strongly about. With that said, I usually allow myself to get cautiously excited for film adaptations.

    Now, for HP7, I just felt like the dramatic build and flow for the final battle was better in the movie than the book. As cool as the house elves joining in on the battle was, and some other things not featuring in the film, the little explainalogue between Voldemort and Harry Potter before the fight felt very… not good. I felt like it killed some of the dramatic build. That’s probably not a popular opinion, though.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree some adaptations are just as good even better! Another good example is Rosemary’s Baby because the book and movie are both amazing!
      I just passed on this because I don’t agree with paying the studios who are using beloved books to sell tickets to bad movies.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s an especially big shame when it’s an adaptation of something that you love, especially when it could have been really good. Because once they make the bad adaptation, they’re not going to try again for a long, long time.
        I know it’s not a book adaptation, but an example is The Last Airbender. I loved that show, and I was super excited for the movie, but then it got M. Night Shat-upon and was absolutely horrible. I’m still upset.

        Oh! Ender’s Game. There’s another one where I feel like the film adaptation may have been better than the original book.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I let the others slide because even so I loved the movies i can’t compare them to the books;-( I thought LOTR and The Hobbit were a feast for the eyes and cinematic masterpieces. HP was HP. I loved both books and movies. Maybe the books a bit more than the movies.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

